How do you handle runs and pairs during play after go is called? For example, play is 10, Q, K, pegs 3 for the run, opponent calls "go". Person calling "go" then leads with a 9. Does this peg 4 for a run, or does the run reset after go?
Similar, play is 10, Q, K (peg 3), opponent calls "go". Player calling "go" then plays a K - is this a peg for 2 or does the play after "go" reset ability to do a pair?
Juli emailed us to ask:
could you help solve an argument.
The hand is 4-4-4-3 with another 3 turned up.
I counted 15-2, 15-4, 6pts for the 4s and 2pts for the pair of threes for a total point count of 12.
Is this correct?
Exactly right! The 4-4-4 makes 15 two ways, once with each of the 3s. There's a pair royal of 4s (6 points) and a pair of 3s, no runs, flushes or nobs equals 12 points total.
Can you break down the count of 29 as it is supposed to be counted? It seems you are not allowing the Jack to be counted with the 4 5's for another 8 points which would give 36 points.
Please help me with my confusion over this.
The 29 cribbage hand page does not explain how the score is broken down, so here goes!
We score the 29 hand in the same way as any other: taking 15s first, then pairs, runs, flushes and nobs.
First count 15s. The Jack makes 15 with each of the 5s, that's 4 15s. Also, there are 4 ways of choosing three different 5s to make additional 15s. That's 8 in total, for 16 points.
Then pairs: there are 6 different pairs of 5s, for another 12 points. That's 28 so far.
There are no runs or flushes, so the Jack of nobs gives us a final point for 29.
I hope this helps!
Jason Massie writes:
Dear Cribbage Corner,
I am hoping someone can settle a Thanksgiving day dilema. We had a hand of 2-2-3-8 and a 2 was cut. How many points is there, 10 or 12?
This is not an easy hand to count at first glance, but let's take it step by step. First the 15s. The 8 and 3 make 11, so requiring 4 more to make 15. As there are three 2s, there are three sets of different pairs of 2s to do this with. Therefore three 15s, for six points.
(We know all 15-scoring combinations must include the 3, because there must always be an odd-numbered card - that's a time-saving tip!)
Now count pairs - we already agreed there are three pairs of 2s, for another six points. That's 12 altogether, so I hope your family can now be reunited and enjoy many more games of cribbage!
Christine Hendricks writes:
I have just read your Simple Cribbage rules, I used to play a lot with my family many years ago, I have now joined a Cards group and they welcome new games, so I thought I wold introduce them to Cribbage, there is something not clear in you rules and I can't remember, during 'The count' when players are laying down the cards what happens when, say for example 4 of a kind came up and they were 8 or above - thus taking the total of the count to over 31? also the same for runs that would go above 31 - do you stop or what ?
During the playing phase - as distinct from the scoring phase - each player lays down just one card at a time, and you cannot play any card that would take the running count over 31.
So in your example, 4 successive 8s could not be played. After the third 8 (making the count 24), the next player would have to play a 7 or lower, or 'Go' (meaning they have no legal card to play). (Failing to play a card when you legally could is called a renege and is usually penalised.)
When nobody can play any more cards without exceeding 31, the count is over, and a new count begins at zero, with the last scoring player laying the first card.
Danine Schlosser writes:
I have 4 sevens and 1 ace showing. What is the count?
First count 15s. It is clear that a pair of 7s makes 15 with the Ace - but how many pairs of 7s are there in four 7s?
An easy way to remember this is to start by asking how many pairs there are in 2 cards. Obviously just one pair.
Now if you add another card, that card can pair with each of the previous cards - making 2 more pairs. So there are 3 pairs in 3 cards.
If we add another card again, that card can pair with each of the previous cards, making 3 more pairs. So there are 6 pairs in 4 cards.
That makes 6 15s, for 12 points in all.
Now we count pairs, and as we just worked out there are 6 pairs in your hand - for another 12 points. That's a total of 24!
On Mon, May 25, 2009 at 7:03 PM, james heap
> could you please tell me what points i have in my hand three threes and a
> six in hand six turned up
If we count 15s first, then the three 3s make 9 so they can make 15 in
combination with each of the 6s - that's two 15s. In addition the two
sixes make 12, so they can make 15 with each of the 3s - that's
another 3 15s. Here are the scoring combinations:
3 3 3 6 = 15 3 3 3 6 = 15 3 6 6 = 15 3 6 6 = 15 3 6 6 = 15
That's 5 15s for 10 points total.
Now count pairs - a pair of 6s scores 2, and a pair royal of 3s scores
6 (you can make 3 possible pairs from 3 of a kind). For pairs 8 points
There are no runs or flushes and you don't have the Jack of nobs, so
the total is 10 + 8 = 18.
Dan R Clark writes:
If you have 3,4,5,6 in your hand,is this a 4 count or a 6 count?
The 4-5-6 makes 15, so that's 2 points, and there is a run of 4, so that's 6 points altogether.
My playing partner's hand consisted of a 10 & three 4s. The cut card was a 3. I thought this should be scored as a hand of eight points. He (and others) thought this should be scored as a hand of twelve points. So, just wondering, what is correct?
Look for the 15s first; the 10 can't make 15 with any combination of the other cards, and you need all of the others (4-4-4-3) to make one 15. So that's 2 points.
Now count pairs; three 4s gives you three pairs, for 6 points.
Runs and flushes there are none, and no points for nobs, so that makes 8 in all. You should ask your partner to explain where the remaining 4 points come from if he would like to claim them!
Joan emailed with this question:
Would like to know the rules on if you have a 29 hand does it count as long you peg. But the other person goes out before you count it.also goes the same for any 24 or 28 hand.
If the other player goes out before you count your hand, then unfortunately, they win. In tournaments where there is a special prize for a 29 hand, I'm not sure whether you would still get the award even if you did not get to count your hand. If it were up to me I'd say yes!