Someone Please Clarify The Go Once and For All!

Ok, I read up on the rules for go and it didn't address this, so I read into the comment, they kind of addressed it but with a really bad example including a three pair and what not. I'm going to try and be as clear as possible with what I'm asking here, I'll use a scenario.
Fred has these four cards in his hand: 8, 8, 2, A
Janice has these four cards in her hand: K, 6, 8, 7

Fred: plays an 8. "eight"

Janice: plays a king. "eighteen"

Fred: plays a 8. "twenty six"

Janice: "Go"

***Now here is my confusion. Does Fred first peg one and then play one of his cards, say the 2, and then wait for Janice to say Go again, and then peg another one, and then lay this last card the Ace down and peg one for a third time (as the last card).

OR

After Janice says the initial Go, does Fred peg one for that Go, and then lay down both his remaining cards consecutively and just peg one more for last card? (two points in total, instead of the 3 he got in the above possible outcome)

I hope thats clear to understand what I'm asking. I've been playing the first scenario where everytime the opponent says Go, I peg one, lay one, wait for them to say Go again, then peg a second time, then lay my last card down and peg and third time for the last card.

I had the same question years

I had the same question years ago when I started playing Cribbage. So, here is my take on the situation:

A ‘Go’ simply means that a player cannot play, either because their card will take the count over 31, or they don’t have any cards left in their hand.

Now, when we say we score 1 point for a ‘Go’, what we’re really saying is we score 1 point because we played the last card in the current “31 count round”. I put these last words in quotes because for one hand, we can play more than one “31 count round”. For example, dealer has K-Q-Q-J and pone has Q-J-10-10. The play of these hands would be something like this:

First 31-count Round (in terms of the count): 10, 20, 30, Go
Second 31-count Round (in terms of the count): 10, 20, 30, Go
Third 31-count Round (in terms of the count): 10, 20, Go (no cards left)

So, again, if we think of scoring 1 point for playing the last card in the current “31 count round”, then using your example, the play of your cards would be something like this:

After Fred plays the 8 (count = 8), and Janice plays the king (count = 18), and Fred plays the 8 (count = 26), Janice says ‘Go’, meaning that she cannot play any card because it would take the count over 31. So, before Fred pegs any points he should:

1. Lay down one and only one of his cards, say the 2 (count now = 28), and determine if he can make any points (count=15, pairs, runs, etc.). If he can make points, he claims it verbally, and pegs the points. For example, if he made a pair, he would peg 2 for the pair. However, in this example, there are no points to be had.

2. Next, lay down the other card, which in this example is the Ace (count = 29), and again determine if he can make any points (count=15, pairs, runs, etc.). If he can make points he claims it verbally, and pegs the points. For example, if he made a simple run of 3, he would peg 3 for the run. However, in this example, there are no points to be had.

3. He continues to lay down cards (one at a time) and claim points (pairs, runs, etc.) until either he can’t play anymore because of either the count would exceed 31 or he runs out of cards. In this example, he runs out of cards.

4. Now to “Pegging the Go”. So, again, instead of thinking we get 1 point for a “Go”, but rather, getting 1 point for the last card played in the current “31 count round”, we would now peg 1. Even if Fred didn’t have any cards to legitimately play because it would take the count over 31 (e.g., if he had a Jack and a Queen in his hand instead of the deuce and the Ace), he would still peg 1 for playing the last card in the current “31 count round”, because right before Janice said “Go”, Fred played his second 8, which would still be considered the “last card in the current 31 count round”.

5. And, in addition, if Fred were able to get the count to be exactly 31, he would peg 1 for the last card played in the current “31 count round”, and peg 1 for making the count exactly equal to 31, for a total of 2 points, which is why the rules state that a 31 is worth 2 points, and those points include the “Go” point. For less confusion, I like to think of a 31 as just that: “1 point for the last card, and 1 point for the 31, for a total of 2”.

Hope this makes sense. Someone, please correct me if I’m wrong.

Only one Go

You can score only one Go per count up to 31. Only one point for the Go can be taken. Other points are allowed, but only one Go point.

Nether of your answers are

Nether of your answers are correct, once Janice says go Fred plays as many cards as he can staying at or under 31 then takes his go. He can score for doubles though during this play.

clarifying GO

Fred can lay his cards in any order he wishes; but no matter how he approaches the situation he can only score 1 point for the GO with the cards he has. The opponent saying "GO" just means that he/she cannot play and you can play any cards that won't exceed 31. You score the 1 GO point after finishing playing cards. A GO point isn't taken with the verbal announcement.