questions

Counting 7-7-7-7-A

Danine Schlosser writes:

I have 4 sevens and 1 ace showing. What is the count?

Danine,

First count 15s. It is clear that a pair of 7s makes 15 with the Ace - but how many pairs of 7s are there in four 7s?

An easy way to remember this is to start by asking how many pairs there are in 2 cards. Obviously just one pair.

Now if you add another card, that card can pair with each of the previous cards - making 2 more pairs. So there are 3 pairs in 3 cards.

If we add another card again, that card can pair with each of the previous cards, making 3 more pairs. So there are 6 pairs in 4 cards.

That makes 6 15s, for 12 points in all.

Now we count pairs, and as we just worked out there are 6 pairs in your hand - for another 12 points. That's a total of 24!

How to score 3-3-3-6-6

On Mon, May 25, 2009 at 7:03 PM, james heap wrote:
> hi
> could you please tell me what points i have in my hand three threes and a
> six in hand six turned up

Hi James,

If we count 15s first, then the three 3s make 9 so they can make 15 in
combination with each of the 6s - that's two 15s. In addition the two
sixes make 12, so they can make 15 with each of the 3s - that's
another 3 15s. Here are the scoring combinations:

3 3 3 6   = 15
3 3 3   6 = 15
3     6 6 = 15
  3   6 6 = 15
    3 6 6 = 15

That's 5 15s for 10 points total.

Now count pairs - a pair of 6s scores 2, and a pair royal of 3s scores
6 (you can make 3 possible pairs from 3 of a kind). For pairs 8 points
total.

There are no runs or flushes and you don't have the Jack of nobs, so
the total is 10 + 8 = 18.

Scoring of go

Carol Duncan writes:

My friend and I have a question regarding the rules of 'go'. For example say we are pegging and my opponent plays his final card to bring the score to 25. He now has no more cards. I have three remaining cards. I play a 4 to bring the score to 29 and then I can't play again (I have two 8s left). Do I get a go?

Then we start at zero again and I play my two eights. Do I then get three (two for the pair and one for go)? Or is this incorrect?

Thank you
Carol

Carol,

You score a point for 'go' when you play a card that means your opponent cannot play without going over 31 (or because he has no cards left). You must then play all the cards you can in succession without going over 31. If you make 31 exactly, you score an extra point. If you fail to play a card when you can, this is a renege.

A new count then begins. Whoever plays the last card scores a point for last.

In your example, the play would have run as follows:

You: 4
Opponent: "Go"
You: "Go" (score 1 point)

New count:

You: 8
You: 8 (score 2 points for a pair and 1 point for last card)

scoring 15-2

Although I've been playing Cribbage for quite a while, but recently I met a New player who threw me off balance by "his" rule which differed from what I've always followed. Here's how it went.

He threw down a king, and then I threw down a king, so I scored for a pair. But then he threw down a five, at which point he said he scored two points because his five and my king totalled fifteen. I DISagreed because the Three cards on the table add up to Twenty-five, so my opponent can Not score two points from count of fifteen. But my opponent objected by saying that he's counting just the TOP cards. Who is correct, my opponent or me?

Scoring 3-4-5-6

Dan R Clark writes:

If you have 3,4,5,6 in your hand,is this a 4 count or a 6 count?

The 4-5-6 makes 15, so that's 2 points, and there is a run of 4, so that's 6 points altogether.

How to score this cribbage hand

north1mile writes:

My playing partner's hand consisted of a 10 & three 4s. The cut card was a 3. I thought this should be scored as a hand of eight points. He (and others) thought this should be scored as a hand of twelve points. So, just wondering, what is correct?

Look for the 15s first; the 10 can't make 15 with any combination of the other cards, and you need all of the others (4-4-4-3) to make one 15. So that's 2 points.

Now count pairs; three 4s gives you three pairs, for 6 points.

Runs and flushes there are none, and no points for nobs, so that makes 8 in all. You should ask your partner to explain where the remaining 4 points come from if he would like to claim them!

scoring

During the game, if I lay a five and then a king, I know that's 15 and thus scored "fifteen-two." Can I then lay a 10 and add it too my original five to make a new 15 and score two more points?

When to count a 29 hand?

Joan emailed with this question:

Would like to know the rules on if you have a 29 hand does it count as long you peg. But the other person goes out before you count it.also goes the same for any 24 or 28 hand.

If the other player goes out before you count your hand, then unfortunately, they win. In tournaments where there is a special prize for a 29 hand, I'm not sure whether you would still get the award even if you did not get to count your hand. If it were up to me I'd say yes!

Three-handed cribbage skunks

Gloria emailed to ask:

if the winner skunks both opponents does he get 2 extra wins

I would say yes, if you score a skunk against one of your opponents you get 2 wins, so if you score a skunk against both, you should get 3 wins.

Winner deals?

Donna Brossoit emailed to ask:

Here's one I haven't been able to find a rule for. When playing multiple games of two-handed cribbage, I was taught that the winner gets to deal first in the next game. Is this correct?

There are several different conventions. The most common is to cut for the first deal, then alternate. The dealer has an advantage, so another convention is to give the deal to the loser of the previous game. The rules of cribbage don't enforce one convention over another, but you should probably agree which one you are going to use beforehand.

Syndicate content