Learning how to play Cribbage since I got a board for xmas have a Question.

I'm reading how to play and I'm only on the turn card rule and I'm already confused. When you turn over the start card and it's the next person's turn do you had your card to the start card? Let's say you cut the deck and the start card is a 3 then the first person goes and lays down a 7 is the count then 10?

Re: Learning how to play Cribbage

Hi,

Congratulations on your new cribbage board! I'm sure you'll have a lot of fun with it.

There are a few things about cribbage which can seem a little confusing at first, until you've played through a few games and it becomes familiar. To answer your question, no, the starter card does not count towards the running total. The sequence goes like this:

1. The deal
2. Each player discards to the crib
3. Turn over the starter card
4. The non-dealer plays the first card and starts the count from zero.

I hope this helps! Don't forget to have a look through the Forum as there are many other questions and answers which you may find useful.