"corners" on the cribbage board

We recently had a board given to us that has all the "bells and whistles", in cluding spots to mark high hand, skunks and corners. What exactly is corners?
I thought it might simply be the first to reach the corner but that seemed just too simple. Does anyone know what this is? I have searched through many different versions of the rules and have found nothing mentioning this.

Corners

The basic cribbage board consists of four parallel rows of thirty holes with two "storage" holes to hold the pegs before play begins. Two rows are on one side of the board and two on the other, each player owning one pair of tracks.

The standard game consists of one hundred twenty one points which are marked by each player advancing his scoring pegs up the outer of his two tracks as he pegs in play and scores his hand or crib. When the score reaches thirty the player's peg is at the top of the column. The next point scored moves the peg to the inside track and progresses downward from there. Between hole thirty and thirty one the player "turns a corner".

In some games, especially if a wager is involved, a bonus might be offered for the first player to reach a corner, thus the option to count them.

A corner also defines the "street" or column being travelled. For instance, the first thirty points is referred to "First Street" and after turning the corner the player is said to be on "Second Street" and so forth unto Fourth Street and "Out."

Corners

Thanks Sam - I suspected that might be it. I've created a new corners page for the site to reflect this.

Scoring the GO, scenarios

Ok,
I am a bit confused about scoring the go. I will present a couple of sample hands, could someone tell me if i am scoring them correctly?
****Hand One
Me: lay down 5, count is 25
Opponent: Go
Me: lay down 3, count is 28
Me: lay down 2, count is 30
Do i peg one only for the go, or 2, one for the go, then one for the next go
What if the 2 was a 3, making the count 31, would i peg 2 or 3
*****Hand 2
Me: i lay down a 10, count is 30
opponent: Go
Me: i can't play
Do i get a point for the GO?

Re: Scoring the GO, scenarios

Hand 1:

You lay down 5, count is 25
Opponent: Go
You peg one point for go.
You play the 3 and the 2.
The count starts again at zero.

Hand 2:

You lay a 10, count is 30
Opponent: Go
You peg one point for go.
The count starts again at zero.

I hope this helps!

The reply to your question

The reply to your question that was given is wrong!!!
If you lay down a 5 making 25, other person says go, then you lay down your 3 or 2 for 28 or 29 points and then lay down the other one to get as close as you can to 31 without going over. If you get a 30 and neither has the Ace, then it is your go because you have 30 points. Do not start the count over at 0 if you can still play! If you can play, you must.

Thanks for the reply. Wow 4

Thanks for the reply. Wow 4 years late. I guess nobody comes to this site anymore, but thanks for the answer

The GO

John was incorrect. Scoring the Go is always done after all possible cards equal to or under 31 have been played. The last person to play a card equal to or less than 31 gets one point for the Go. If they hit 31 exactly it is two points, one for the Go and a bonus point.

Kevin's reply to the 'go'

Kevin's reply to the 'go' question is how I was taught as well.

scoring

I think of it this way... "Go" is what you say when you do not have any cards left to play that will be under the 31 point count. No one gets points for a "go". What you get the one point for, is, whoever played the last card in the hand. So when you hit 31, the two points you get are; 1 pt for the last card played and 1 pt because you hit 31 right on the nose. It's not a bonus point, it's what you get when the card count is 31. Same idea as when the card count is 15, you get two points. I know what I just said was a minor detail to be sure, but as a new player to understand what you are doing will bring more clarity. I can remember learning all this 15-2, when to "go" when not to "go"... crib, do I get a point for that? ... my head was spinning. hope this helps.

Wrong

Tommaso please refer to the official cribbage rules at cribbage.org. Several of your statements here are incorrect. There is no "last card played". A "last card played" is simply a Go and the player who played it gets a point. Also hitting 31 exactly is easier to understand that the Go is included in the 31. This site has dozens of questions in it about hitting 31 "on the nose" by playing the last card. So does that person get 3 points? You see the way you phrase it, they would get 3 points. If you hit 15-2 on the last card, do you not also get 3? Please refer to cribbage.org for the official rules of cribbage.

Kevin, Thanks for the comment

Kevin, Thanks for the comment but I was only trying breakdown the reason why you get two points when you reach the 31 pt exactly. I looked up the rules on cribbage.org, as you suggested, and it does state in Rule 1.7 Scoring Chart, that a player receives 2 points for "reaching 31 pt count exactly" and 1 pt for "final card played" (without reaching 31-count). My post was trying to explain why you DON'T get 3 points for 31 (2 for 31 and 1 for last card played or "final card" as the rules state) because the final card point is already included in the 2 points for 31 ! To address your last question, if on the last hand we have only one card each, say for example you have a 7 and I have an 8. I play the 7 and you play the 8 making 15, you would get 2 points for the 15 and also get 1 point for the final card played or as I like to call it, the last card played. If that is not correct, check out https://cardgames.io/cribbage/ and the app 'Cribbage Classic' because that is way they score it. If they are wrong, take it up with them.

Go/31

Thank you Kevin. Between you and Tommaso, I think I am at peace now. I was taught that if you hit 31 in the middle of battle, you got 2 points, and new battle ensued. But when I got a go, and I had to play any remaining playable cards, I would only get 1 point for my 31, (but full points for any pairs or runs I made with those reamain cards I had to play). I played incorrectly for while (where I got the go point plus 2 for a 31), so once I was corrected, it drove me nuts every time. But now I see, from your comments, there never was 2 points for a 31. If you hit 31, you got the go and 1 bonus point on the spot, just no one said 'go'. I personally think it would be better if the 31 was worth 2 and you could get 3 points for go/31. Once I was corrected, I had to rethink my battle strategy. Forcing opponents to give me a go and then getting the 31 was worth it to me to get 3 points. But now that it is only worth 2 points (per the rules), it's often not worth it beause my opponent has multiple cards left to play by himself which are often pairs or 15's. So, now I have to be careful NOT to be able to get a 31 if I get a go.

Rarely

Rarely would you ever stop short of pegging to 31 for 2 pts vs taking only 1 pt for a go. Not sure actually when that would ever happen.

Thanks Tomasso, That is

Thanks Tomasso,
That is helpful.
It has been so long since i played, i am going to have to re-learn everything, but I will refer back to your comment.

Please don't

Tomasso is incorrect. Please do not refer to his post as you "re-learn" cribbage. Of course people get points for a Go. It happens every second of every day. They do NOT get points for "last card". The 'last card' played is simply a Go since no other player can play another card getting you closer to 31. If you understand that, you are half way there. If Tomasso's rules were in effect, you would only get one point for the entire pegging sequence. Please be careful about who you listen to rules by and if EVER in doubt, please refer to the authorized cribbage rules located at cribbage.org. There are so many variations and "kitchen" cribbage rules and a lot of people post on this site who have NEVER played competitive cribbage or in organized cribbage. They are regurgitating what their grandmother told them 67 years ago, and she learned if from her grandmother. There are actual rules out there folks. Please learn then and use them. Just like there are a million poker rules, there are a million cribbage rules. But there is only one set for each when you are talking about official rules.

Count to 31

You are welcome and thanks for the kind comment.