scoring runs during play?

I am so confused about scoring a double run while pegging. Suppose the play goes 3-2-A. At that point the player playing the ace scores 3. If his opponent plays another Ace, does he score 4 for a run of 4 plus 2 for the pair?

What if the play goes this way 3-3-2-A. Does the player of the Ace count 3 or 4? What if tne next play is another A? What does that player count?

Can someone state the rule about scoring runs & pairs during play clearly enough that even an idiot like me can get it?

No run

There is no run there, as the last 3 cards played were 7-9-7. Now if it had been 7-8-9-7 then you could get back into the run. Your score was on 2 points for 31 in the way you described it.

Playing your hand

Ok here is my example
I play a 4, my opponent plays a 4 and then I play another 4
How many pegging point do we each get.

playing your hand

Opponent scores 2 points of pairing your 4. You then score 6 points for a triple of three 4s. If you opponent then lays the fourth 4 he scores 12 points !!!

runs

opponent plays a 5
i play a 2
opponent plays a 3
i play a 4 (for 4 points)
opponent says "go"
I play a 5 - does this get me another run of 3 plus the "go"

Actually

It actually gives you a run of 4 and last card. 5, 2, 3, 4, 5. The start and the finish both have uninterrupted runs of 4.

Runs

You actually score 4 plus an extra 1 for the "go". The run was 2-3-4-5

No, a "go" breaks the

No, a "go" breaks the sequence of cards played.

As a reminder, you may want to flip the played cards face-down after a 31 or a "go". This means the played cards can't be used to make runs!

You are so wrong

Sorry Benoit, but you couldn't be so wrong. Saying "go" does not break any sequence of cards ever, except if everyone says go and that ends the "round" of cards. If you play after the go and it is less than 31 then it's perfectly fine.

Suggest you learn the rules!!

I stand corrected, yes only

I stand corrected, yes only when everyone has said Go and the count returns to zero is when the sequence gets broken.

Don;t do that

You are not allowed to flip cards over. That is an advantage or disadvantage and you are not allowed to flip cards over while pegging.

3 handed crib if lead with 4

3 handed crib if lead with 4 2 5 3 than ace is it still a run even if you Barry your own cards

Counting the "last card"

If the total in a play is 15 for two points and it is also the "last card" in the play does the player get 1 point for last card?

Last card vs go

There is technically no "Last Card" point in cribbage. It is technically a "Go", but we often call it last card. A go is scored when the player plays a card closest to 31 without going over and no other player can then play. A last card qualifies for a Go, because no other player can play getting them closer to 31. The answer Janet is yes. Take your final Go (last card) no matter where it lands!

By all means. You score

By all means. You score 15-2, plus 1 for last card.

counting run in cribbage

I laid a 5 to complete a 5,6,4,7,8 run. Does it count for 5 points and if not; why.

Are you listing the cards

Are you listing the cards played in order? Then...
5 = 5
6 = 11
4 = 15 for 5 (15-2 + run of 3)
7 = 22 for 4
8 = 30 for 5
At this point you cannot play a 5 because it would bring the count over 31.

If you listed the cards in reverse order, then:
8 = 8
7 = 15 for 2
4 = 19
6 = 25
5 = 30 for 5 (the last 5 cards make a 5-run, order doesn't matter)

Weird Runs

I had a dispute with a friend about this. We were in the pegging phase, and we had reached the 20 point mark, and he laid a 3, i laid down a 2, he laid down a Ace for three points (i had a ten, so i couldnt go), but then he laid another three and claimed it was another run of three points, for 2,1,3 even though he just got a run for 3,2,1? Was he right? Because we had a huge debate over this.

Your friend was correct. When

Your friend was correct.

When he played the ace the last three cards were 3-2-A, and that is a 3-run.

You said Go, he plays a three. The last three cards that were played are 2-A-3 and that is another 3-run.

He also gets 1 for the Go, for a total of 3+3+1 = 7.

Pegging is it 8 points or 14 points?

The play:
Player 1 plays first:

putting down a 6 then player Player 2 plays a 3... then eventually we get 6,3,7,4,5. Player 1 gets 5 points for a run putting the 5 down. Player 2 plays a 2..... 6,3,7,4,5,2 which would be a run for 6 points. Then Player 1 says "go" being 27 total and he can't play his last card but then Player 2 can still go and puts down an Ace... 6,3,7,4,5,2,Ace which continues the run for 7 points.

So does Player 2 get 14 points for the run of 6 plus the player 1 saying go and playing another card to make it a run of 7 after the go and getting a point for go. 6+7+1?

Or is it only 8 since the Player 1 said go and you would only count the seven card run and the go. 7+1.

Points (if any) are scored

Points (if any) are scored every time a card has been played.

After Player 2 has played the 2, she gets 6 points.

Then she plays the ace, and gets another 7 plus 1 for the Go. Total = 14!

If he lays 3 I lay 5 he lays

If he lays 3 I lay 5 he lays 7 and takes two for the 15 then I lay a 6 for 21 and get three points for the straight is he aloud to lay another 5 and take three more points?

No Straights

This is not poker, they are not straights, but the answer to your questions is yes. Runs of ANY connected sequence of cards in ANY order, that have not been broken score one point for each card in the run/sequence.

Sure can and does. Yes, he is

Sure can and does. Yes, he is allowed to lay another 5 and he scores 3 points for the run of a 7-6-5.

Yes, the last three cards at

Yes, the last three cards at this point are 7-6-5 so that is a new run of three.

scoring when counting

if player 1 is out of cards and I have 2 jacks after a 'go' do I get the points for paring myself?

Assuming the two jacks don't

Assuming the two jacks don't bring the count over 31, yes. Points are scored during play regardless of who played the previous cards.

scoring when counting

if player 1 is out of cards and I have 2 jacks after a 'go' do I get the points for paring myself?

Correct

You are allowed to score any points including pairs, 3-of-a-kind, runs or 15-twos while pegging.