scoring runs during play?

I am so confused about scoring a double run while pegging. Suppose the play goes 3-2-A. At that point the player playing the ace scores 3. If his opponent plays another Ace, does he score 4 for a run of 4 plus 2 for the pair?

What if the play goes this way 3-3-2-A. Does the player of the Ace count 3 or 4? What if tne next play is another A? What does that player count?

Can someone state the rule about scoring runs & pairs during play clearly enough that even an idiot like me can get it?

Re: scoring runs during play?

Don't worry, you're not the only one to be confused! I get a lot of emails asking about how to score runs and pairs in Cribbage.

I suggest remembering the following simple rule:


The player who completes a run scores the number of cards in that run

So in your first example, the 3-2-A run was already completed before the opponent played the Ace, so the Ace doesn't complete a new run, so it only scores for the pair.

In the second example, 3-3-2-A, the Ace completes a run of 3, so scores 3. A further Ace doesn't complete any runs, so it doesn't score.

Simple!

scoring a double run

Double runs are scored only when counting points at the end of the hand.

Runs in any order

Example
3-4-5-6 = 4pts

if a player adds a 3 for a 4-5-6-3 does this count as another run of 4?

Yes, it does - and if someone

Yes, it does - and if someone else was to play a 4 giving 5-6-3-4 they would score another 4 points.

just a ?

what if after the play of 5-6-3-4 I play a 5 is that also 4 points?

Can runs or pairs

Can runs or pairs "carry-over" after 31 is made or a go is made? Meaning, if the final cards played during a hand are 4, 4 and the total is 29 (and a go for 1), then a 4 is played. Does the pair of 4's previously laid allow this to be counted as royal pair or is the entire hand already down no longer counted?

No. Once "go" is scored, the

No. Once "go" is scored, the hand resets. You can no longer score off the previous cards.

thank's much! If I can ask

thank's much! If I can ask another question; Last night she drew a 6, 6, 5, 4 and the flip card was also a 4. No flush in it. We think this is a 24. Agree?

24 is correct. There is no

24 is correct. There is no combination of those cards that could yield a flush scfore.

I have the exact same

I have the exact same question can som eone pls answer, it is a huge family dispute

What is the question?

Since your comment was down at the bottom of a lot of questions, I am unsure of how to help you. Please send the question in again and I would be happy to answer it. Happy Peggings!

Runs when pegging in crib...

The answer is yes. When pegging in cribbage, a run becomes a run when a connecting card is played in any order.

Here are some examples and explanations...

I. Broken runs
Runs in cribbage can be reused as long as they are not broken by a pair or a card played that is so much higher than the previous or following card, that a run of three or more cannot be completed before 31 is reached. (See example 1).

Example-Potential run broken by a high card:
1-2-9-3-4-7-5 (31)

Example-A potential run broken by a pair:
1-2-4-4-3-6-9-2 (31)
(There is no such thing as a “double run” during the count. Because each player gets individual credit for their own runs and pairs).

Example-2 separate but completed runs broken by a pair:
1, 3, 2, 2, 4-1-3-5 (31)

The first run of three cards is worth 3 points and the second run of five cards is worth 5 points (+ 2 points for 31). The 4-card, played after the pair, is the second card in the run. The run starts with the second 2-card, but does not become a run until after the 3-card is played to connect it and make it a four-card run [2, 4, 1, 3]. When the 5-card is played, it becomes a five-card run [2-4-1-3-5] and ads up to 31.

II.Reusing part of a run to make a new run
A run can start and not end until the same value card is played, at which time it becomes a new run.

Example - Reusing part of a run:
2-4-3-1-5-6-2 (31)

?
III. Longest possible run
A run can be up to seven cards. (It is impossible to play eight cards in a row and remain under 31). In theory a 7-card run, which contains 25 combined points, is achievable, with 15 points going to player-1 and 10 points going to player-2. The only limitation on the length of a run is the cap of 31.

Example-Seven card run:
A
2
3 (3 points for Player-1)
4 (4 points for Player-2)
5 (5 more points for Player-1)
6 (6 more points for Player-2)
7 (7 more points for Player-1)

Score is now 28.
(An 8-card to continue the run is not playable without exceeding 31).

If Player-2 has an A, 2 or 3, the count could end in one of the following ways:

3-card
5 points for the new run [4-5-6-7-3] + 2 points for 31 = 7 points for Player-2. (With this play, Player-2 earned 17 total points during the count, while Player 1 earned 15).

2-card
6 points for the new run [3-4-5-6-7-2] + 1 point for last card played = 7 points for Player-2.
(With this play, Player-2 earned 17 total points during the count, while Player 1 earned 15).

Ace (Best play possible)
7 points for the new run [2-3-4-5-6-7-1] + 1 point for last card played = 8 points for Player-2. (With this play, Player-2 earned 18 total points during the count, while Player 1 earned 15).

Note:
If Player-2 does not have a card lower than a four when the count is at 28, the first count would end and Player-1 would receive 1 point for playing the last card under 31. Player-2 would then play their last card in the next count and would receive 1 point for playing the last card of the new count.

Hope this is not more confusing. It is a difficult thing to explain and often hard for new players to grasp.

yes it is another 4 points

yes it is another 4 points

the run keeps on giving !

Oh yes indeedy. By adding a 5 you have a run of four (6-3-4-5). Simple rule is just look at the cards that have gone before and see if there is any run. For this example, the cards you could lay next to make a run are 6 (run of four), 7 (run of five) and a 2 (also a run of five). Played the other day and the runs kept flowing as cards being laid were aces, twos, threes, fours so there were a few runs being made before we hit 31 !!! Lots of pegging - great fun !

Scoring runs during play

It sounds like you are saying the longest a run is allowed to count during play is 4 cards. Is this the case?

In other words, If a run of 4-5-6-7 was already played and the next player played a 3, does it count as 5 points or still only 4?

Thanks
Nancy

Keep going Nancy

Runs that are unbroken score one point per card. They can be 4. 5. 6. or even 7 points long.

question about a run during play?

If I laid a 4, my husband laid a 3, my daughter-in-law laid a 5, she counted 3 points, then my son followed through with a 6 and counted 4 pts. I then laid a 2. so it was 4,3,5,6 and 2. Does that count or was there any mistakes throughout this play?

Looks Good!

Hope you took 5 points for the run of five there. Looks like you guys played it perfectly.

Same suit run

If during play all 4 cards in the run are the same suit, do you get extra points beside the run?

Same suit run

If during play all 4 cards in the run are the same suit, do you get extra points beside the run?

runs during hand

If the play goes 3-2-5-6-4, in that order, would the player who played the 4 get a run of 5??

Thanks:-)

Unbroken runs

Correct. Any 'unbroken' runs are worth one point per card, so the answer is yes, the player who played the 4 gets the five points.

unbroken runs

I always played by a rule for runs that a player must previously score 3 points for a run of 3 before another could score 4 point for a run of 4. But your comment for unbroken runs disputes this rule. Correct?

Runs

Kate, that is incorrect. There does not have to be a run of 3 before a run of 4, 5, 6 etc. Imagine this sequence of play: Ace, 7, 2, 6, 3, 5...if the next player plays a 4 then they have a run of seven points! and there were never any runs before that. Keep Pegging!

I'd be tickled to play this

I'd be tickled to play this way...I haven't found a source to confirm this info. Can you provide it?

Source

The only 'source' I can point to are the official rules of the American Cribbage Congress, which has extensive rules and is really the only recognized major body of cribbage players in the world. You may find the rules and other information about them at www.cribbage.org

Runs

So what I'm hearing and seeing is that DOUBLE runs do NOT count at all during pegging? ie A,2,3,A would normally score 8 pts. in the scoring at the end... two runs of A,2,3 for 6pts. and the pair of As for another 2pts.

Correct

Double runs only count when scoring the hand, never while pegging. Your example though would score two-3 point runs. A, 2, 3, A. The person who played the 3 would get three for a run and the person who came back with the other A would also get 3 points for a run.

Runs

Double runs only count when scoring the hand, never while pegging.

Playing 2 handed:
8 (player 1)
3 (player 2), 11
4 (player 1), 15 for 2
5 (player 2), 20 for 3
3 (player 1), 23 for 3 ???
2 (player 2), 25 for 4
A (player 1), 26 for 5
6 (player 2), 31 for 7 (run of 5, + 31 for 2)

My concern starts with the reuse of cards.(or backward runs) This situation is not very clearly defined within the rules of play that I have read to date. I would like to see the above example in print in any accredited cribbage rule book(s).

I believe that once a run has been established,(ie. 8,3,4,5) it can not or should not be interrupted by allowing said cards to be reused again (Backwards Run) (ie. 4,5,3,2,A,6)
I believe that once any run has started that it can only be added on to by another successive card, in this example the 8,3,4,5 could only be followed up by either a 7,6 which would bring the hand total to 30 & six card run. or instead with a 6,1,2 which would bring the hand total to 29 & six card run.
I believe that by when the second 3 card entered into play that the run shall end.(No reuse of the previous two cards (4,5).
I really have not been able to find a clearly defined rule or example of this within any of the rules I have read to date. I believe this to be proper, But would greatly appreciate being shown where I could find the proper answer to this example.

Thanks,
Dwayne

Runs

Dwayne,

www.cribbage.org for rules. Runs can be any combination that are ordered and uninterrupted and they are allowed to continue. It does not matter which 'direction' they are headed as long as they are not brought out of sequence by a pair. The rules are clearly defined by the ACC.

Cribbage runs.

Ok we had a run 3,4,5,6,ace (ace did not score a run. Now 2 was laid is that 6 for 6 run or was the run broken at ace?

Runs

Katy, the run was never broken. The only way to break a run is to play a card that has already been played. The ace just set it up so that the 2 could be played. What would have been even more fun was if this happened: 3, 4, 5, 6, Ace, 7 and THEN play your 2. Even though neither the Ace or the 7 contributed to the 3, 4, 5, 6 run, they both set it up for a run of 7. (which is the highest run you can get)

If the last X cards to be

If the last X cards to be played make a run of X cards in any order, then you score X points.

Substitute 6 for X in the above sentence... You have a run of 6.

Scoring

In hand, how many point would 2,3,4,5,6 score? New to the game so I want to check to see if we are scoring it correctly. We weren't certain of you just score 5 for a 5 card run or if you also count a 3 point run x 3 (2,3,4: 3,4,5: 4,5,6) and so on.

Thanks ;)

Score 7

That hand scores 7. One for a 15-2 and a run of five for seven.

5 in a line scores 9

5 in a line with no Aces or Faces is always 9

Scoring

It would be:
fifteen two [2,3,4,6]
fifteen four [5,4,6]
and a run of five for five makes nine.
I assume no flush and there are no pairs and no jacks.

correct

Thanks for recounting that one. I was trying to figure out how they only came up with 7.

Run Question

Just wondering about how to score the following:

Toward the end of our hand (2 handed), approaching 31, my opponent laid a 3, I laid a 4, then she laid a 2. I said Go. She then had an Ace in her hand. Does she count a run of 3 and then a run of 4 for 7 total points? Or does she just count the run of 4 for 4 points?

Please help!

Score 8

Actually she will get to score 8 points. 3 for the first run, 4 for the second run and she also gets one point for the go.

crib

actually if the second ace is played and count is under 31 her count will be 10

Incorrect

Bill,

While her TOTAL points scored might be 10, her count is NOT 10. You must take your points as they are scored when you lay a card down. She could have 4, 3, 1 (or 2), but you HAVE to score it like that. If you wait and take 10 at the end that is improper play.

Second Ace

There was no mention of a second Ace. What are you talking about?

same question as above

Playing 2 handed:
6 (player 1)
K (player 2), 16
5 (player 1), 21
3 (player 2), 24
4 (player 1), 28 for 3
2 (player 2), 30 for 4
Go
A (player 2), 31 for 7 (run of 5, 31 for 2)

Does player 2 score 4, and then take 5 more points for the Ace?

Thanks,
Amanda

Amanda, That is correct. When

Amanda,
That is correct. When player #2 plays the deuce she would immediately peg 4 points for the run. After player #1 says go player #2 plays the ace and pegs 5 points for the run and 2 for 31. In the play you always peg your points as soon as you make them. The only odd ball is the go which requires you to play all the cards you are able before you peg the go. If you are luck this is an opportunity to fill out runs or make pairs by yourself. All these points would also be pegged as soon as they are made. So if your opponent says go and you have three aces in your hand that you can play you would score the pair for 2 and then the pair royale for 6. I have seen many new players miss possible points by not playing out correctly. Usually only a problem with pairs as runs can be in any order.

Player 2 takes...

A total of 7 points. They may take the 5 for the run and then the two for the thirty one, or take 7 all at once. It doesn't matter. I am unsure why you asked about taking 9 points.

run count

while playing doubles,first players lays a 8card .second player lays a 7card for 2points (15-2).third player lays a 9card for 3points(run of 3 ). the fourth player lays a 7card and then counts 5 points for a run and a sum of 31. is this the right count. or should the count should be 2points for the sum of 31.

No run

There is no run there, as the last 3 cards played were 7-9-7. Now if it had been 7-8-9-7 then you could get back into the run. Your score was on 2 points for 31 in the way you described it.

Playing your hand

Ok here is my example
I play a 4, my opponent plays a 4 and then I play another 4
How many pegging point do we each get.

playing your hand

Opponent scores 2 points of pairing your 4. You then score 6 points for a triple of three 4s. If you opponent then lays the fourth 4 he scores 12 points !!!