Scoring of go

Carol Duncan writes:

My friend and I have a question regarding the rules of 'go'. For example say we are pegging and my opponent plays his final card to bring the score to 25. He now has no more cards. I have three remaining cards. I play a 4 to bring the score to 29 and then I can't play again (I have two 8s left). Do I get a go?

Then we start at zero again and I play my two eights. Do I then get three (two for the pair and one for go)? Or is this incorrect?

Thank you
Carol

Carol,

You score a point for 'go' when you play a card that means your opponent cannot play without going over 31 (or because he has no cards left). You must then play all the cards you can in succession without going over 31. If you make 31 exactly, you score an extra point. If you fail to play a card when you can, this is a renege.

A new count then begins. Whoever plays the last card scores a point for last.

In your example, the play would have run as follows:

You: 4
Opponent: "Go"
You: "Go" (score 1 point)

New count:

You: 8
You: 8 (score 2 points for a pair and 1 point for last card)