When to count a 29 hand?

Joan emailed with this question:

Would like to know the rules on if you have a 29 hand does it count as long you peg. But the other person goes out before you count it.also goes the same for any 24 or 28 hand.

If the other player goes out before you count your hand, then unfortunately, they win. In tournaments where there is a special prize for a 29 hand, I'm not sure whether you would still get the award even if you did not get to count your hand. If it were up to me I'd say yes!