Winner deals?

Donna Brossoit emailed to ask:

Here's one I haven't been able to find a rule for. When playing multiple games of two-handed cribbage, I was taught that the winner gets to deal first in the next game. Is this correct?

There are several different conventions. The most common is to cut for the first deal, then alternate. The dealer has an advantage, so another convention is to give the deal to the loser of the previous game. The rules of cribbage don't enforce one convention over another, but you should probably agree which one you are going to use beforehand.

Alternate Dealing

Actually the rules of cribbage do decide this. Please refer to cribbage.org Rule 1.5. The Loser of the game deals the next game. Not the winner and not alternating. The winner getting to deal the next game is a terribly significant advantage from between 5-20% or more depending on the skill of the player. (Average about 10%)