Jack in crib

Jack in hand, the same suit as starter, scores one point ("His Nobs"). Does a Jack in the crib, the same suit as starter, score for "his nobs" or not? Here's why the question comes up:

In a rule book of card games it says, "His Nobs: For a Jack in hand, of the same suit as starter, score 1."

Question is, "in hand" seems to mean cards one is holding, in one's hand. If the Jack (of the same suit as starter) is in one's crib, that is not technically held in one's hand as it is not used during play, but only counted at the end of play. So, does the Jack in the crib also score as "His Nobs" (if that card is of the same suit as the starter)?

I have also searched various websites and there is no clarity on this one, particular point (which could be a point of contention, depending on who your opponent is)! Thanks.

Yes, his nobs counts a point

Yes, his nobs counts a point in the crib. This is why people are reluctant to discard a jack to the opponent's crib!

Here's an easy rule to remember: The ONLY difference between scoring the crib and the hand is in the flush rule. Only a 5-flush counts in the crib, while the hand can have a 4- or a 5-flush. Everything else is the same.

ACC

Rules of cribbage can be found at www.cribbage.org. Use those rules and no others and you cannot go wrong.