Cribbage rules - the scoring

(Previous section: Cribbage rules - the go)

Having played out all the cards, both players then score their hands, pone first - this time including the turn-up card as part of both hands. The dealer's crib also includes the turn-up. Again, points are scored for 15s, runs, and pairs; you can also score for a flush (all cards of the same suit) - see the cribbage scoring chart below for a handy reference. It is a key part of the rules of cribbage that the non-dealer should score first - at the end of the game, both players may have enough points to win, and the right to score first will determine victory. The cribbage board's positions usually alternate during the game, with first one player leading, then the other. The trick is to be in the first-scoring position when you are close enough to win!

Cribbage flush

If the four cards in your hand are of the same suit, you score four for a flush (a cribbage flush, unlike in poker, doesn't beat three of a kind!). If the starter card is also of the same suit, you score five. However, in the crib you cannot score a four-card flush; all five must be the same suit. These rules occasionally have local variations, so check to make sure which rules are being used. In an official tournament, the American Cribbage Congress rules apply.

Some cribbage rules sites explicitly state that flushes are not scored in cribbage. This is incorrect, at least according to the American Cribbage Congress rules, which are the nearest thing to an official set of rules for cribbage.

Cribbage pairs

2 points are scored for a pair in cribbage, and 6 for a pair royal - that is, three cards of the same rank. This can be considered as 3 different pairs worth 2 points each. Similarly, double pair royal (four of a kind) scores 12 as there are 6 ways of picking two cards from four. You begin to see why mathematicians love this game.

Combinations of cards making 15 score two points each - for example, 8 and 7. As many ways as you can make 15 with your cards, you score 2 points for each of them. For example, 8-7-7-A can make 15 three ways: the 8 and one 7, the 8 and the other 7, and the 7-7-A. Consequently it scores 6 points (for 15s, and a further 2 for the pair of 7s).

Cribbage runs

Runs score as many points as there are cards in them. For example, a four-card run 9-T-J-Q scores 4.

Cribbage nobs

You also score 1 point if you have the Jack of the same suit as the starter card (known as 'his nob' or just 'nobs').

Cribbage scoring chart

You can print out this cribbage scoring chart and keep it handy when you're playing!

Score Value Comment
15 2 -
Pair 2 -
Pair royal 6 Three of a kind
Double pair royal 12 Four of a kind
Run 1 per card Runs need not be in numerical order (eg 3-5-6-4) but they must be consecutive (3-4-4-5 does not score).
Go 1 The go is scored by the last player to lay a card.
31 2 The 2 points for 31 includes a go (by definition no-one can go when the total is 31). So no extra point is scored for the go.
Nobs 1 "One for his nob" is scored if you hold the Jack of the turn-up suit.

Continue to Cribbage rules -example hands

Is 456 worth 5 or 3 points?

I grew up playing cribbage with my grandfather and his friends. They always counted a run of 456 as only 3 points. The explained that you can never count the same combination of cards as two things (4-5-6 is a run of 3, but also adds up to 15) ,therefore, they counted a 456 for 3 points for the run and always neglected the 2 points for 15. In their minds, you can count the 4-5-6 combo as a run of 3, but then cannot count the same 4-5-6 combo as a 15 too. Everywhere else I have played, online or otherwise, has counted the 456 as 5 points. So which is it? Is the 456 worth 5 points or 3? Have my grandfather and his friends been wrong all this time?

scoring double double run

How many points would you give a hand of 44566? Do you score it as 20 or 24?

24

That hand is 24. 8 points for 15s and a double-double run of 16 equals 24.

Grandparents

Yes, they were wrong all this time (but I bet they could fish better than anyone). All combinations of scoring are allowed, but each only once. Which is why they may have been confused so many years ago. a 4, 5, 6 either played towards 31 starting from zero, or in a hand score 5. 2 pts for the 15 and 3 for the run.

Can a three card total be tallied twice.

My gf and I were playing a game the other night and her hand ended up being a 9,8,7,5 and an A showing. She tallied it up as 15-6. 15-2 for the 8,7; 15-2 for the ((9+A)+5; 15-2 for the (9+(5+A)). I disagree and say her hand is worth 4 not 6. I cant find anything to support either argument though. Any help would be great.

You were right...and wrong

Your GF was wrong on this one with her scoring of more than one 15 using the same cards. She had has two distinct combinations of 15's (you cannot use the exact same cards twice). So you were right, she has 4 points for her 15s....but she also has 3 points for her run. The hand total is 7. I think that you should both cook dinner after than one.

an ace value in a run

Can an ace be played as a run with k,q, and j,as well as, with a 2,3 and 4?

Aces

Trudy, Aces are always low and equal to one. You cannot use them in a run with face cards. Keep pegging!

Points

How many points is a hand of 6,6,7,8 and a 8 is cut

20 Points

Your hand equals 20 points. Four for the fifteens and sixteen points for a double-double run.

Multiple runsruns

I have 6,7,8,9. Can this be scored 678=3, 789=3, 6789=4, 7+8=2, 9+6=2 total=14? Or is it just 8 for the run of four plus two 15's (cards are not all the same suit?

Stick to total runs

Unfortunately, you cannot score the runs that way. Since you can never count the exact same cards twice in scoring, you can only count the 4-card run once for four points and the four points for a total of 8 for that hand. Hope that helps and keep pegging!

SCORING

WHAT IF I HAD 7,8,7, 1, CAN I USE THE 7 WITH THE 8 AND THEN THE 7 AGAIN WITH THE 1. CAN YOU USE CARDS IN YOUR HAND MORE THAN ONCE IN MAKING DIFFERENT COMBINATIONS OF 15?

Yes..., but only once

Yes, you can use all cards to combine to make combinations of 15...but if you use the exact same cards....you can only do it once. The score on your hand is 8. 15-2, 15-4, 15-6 and a pair for eight.

How many points for a

How many points for a 2-2-2-2-9?

How many points for a

How many points for a 2-2-2-2-9?

Hand scores 20

That hand is worth 20. Four combinations of 15 and 12 points for the quads.

aces

can an ace be used with a queen-king run?

Aces are always low

Aces are always low and counted only as one. They cannot be used to form a run with a king, only with a two and three.

scoring

How many points is 9,6,3,3 and 3 on deck ? I think its 12 but my husband and son say its 20

Hard one to count

Tracy, that is one of the harder hands to count. When you encounter them, sometimes laying the cards out in a square helps. Here is the breakdown:

The 9 plus the three 3s is already 12 as there are six fifteens and three pairs for 6 so that in itself equals 12. Then there is the 9/6 which also equals fifteen, so we are up to a score of 14. Then there are the three 3s and the 6! That also equals 15. The total for this hand is.....16 points. A very good score indeed. (Let the boys know that if they had two 9s and the three 3s they would have had 20. For fun, have them count 6, 6, 3, 3, 3 and see what they come up with. That is one of the hardest hands to count in all of cribbage!) Keep Pegging!

Can you count nobs in the

Can you count nobs in the crib?

Nobs

If you hold a jack that is the same suit as the turn card (up-card), no matter where it is...score one point. Works in the crib and in the hand the same way.

How do I score this?

3+3+3+3 and a 6 as the cut card that is turned upright?

How many dose he score

If your plaing pairs 5 card and one player has a 3 3 3 6 in his hand and a 6 turns up how many dose he score please ...

Score

6, 6, 3, 3, 3,

Score as 15-2, 4, 6, 8, 10, pair for 12 and royal pair for a total of 18.

Scoring

I have in my hand 9 ,3,3 and the turned up 3 what would this hand score

Score 12

You have three different sets of 15 for 6 points and three-of-a-kind which is also worth 6 points. 12 points total.

Counting a run

I had a hand that had a run with 6,5, and 4. Does this get counted for a run and 15? For a total of 5 points? Thank you

Correct

That is correct. If you ONLY had those cards in your hand, then it would be worth 5 points, 2 for the fifteen and three for the run.

crib score

whilst playing a 3 handed crib game the cards were played in this order 5-5-5=15/2 6/3 fives. total=8
4-4 2/2 fours. =2
3-3 2/ 2 threes
lastly a 2.2/31
now my partner says he gets 3 times count for 4 runs of 5,4,3,2. am confused with his thinking and would allow him the points. please tell me who is right and what is the correct points scored

I think you mean...

Trying to follow you here, the cards played were, 5, 5, 5, 4, 4, 3, 3, 2? There are no points for runs in this sequence. Here are the totals:

5=0
5=2
5=8
4=0
4=2
3=0
3=2
2=2.

Beginner question

I couldn't find the answer here, and was wondering.

Does the Jack of nobs also give you a point when played during the pegging phase?

Or only at the end during the scoring phase?

Nobs

Holding the Jack of the same suit as the turn card is worth one point, but only when scoring a hand, not before.

When final player lays his

When final player lays his cards down and the other player has no cards left.thefinalplayers cards total 15.do you score2 or3 points

Last Card

You will get two points for hitting 15 exactly and one point for a final go for laying down the last card.

Scoring hand

Hi-

I've heard that a 555J (for nobs) with a 5 up is the best hand you can have, but wouldnt 4 5's with a Jack up (when you are dealing) score higher for heels over nobs? you still have 5 of the same cards plus the extra 2 over the 1? Or Does that just mean the highest scoring hand when you arent dealing?

29 Hand

While the hand you are describing is ultimately worth one more point if you were the dealer (28 for the hand and two for cutting the jack), the highest scoring hand is still 29. When scoring hands, you cannot take into account other factors. If you did, you could take into account pegging points as well.

Could you please resolve a

Could you please resolve a debate...what is the score for 3 sevens & an ace.. Thank you

Three sevens and an Ace

777A is worth 12 points. 6 points for three combinations of 15 and 6 points for three pairs.

Pegging

If cards are played in the following sequence 7 5 6 4 5 the first 3 cards count as 3 points but does the player of the second five score three points for a run as well?

Pegging

Mark, that is correct. 7,5,6,4,5 would score like this: the player who plays the 6 gets 3 points for a run, the player who plays the 4 then gets 4 points for a run and the last player who played the 5 would get an additional 3 points for a run.

Nobs on cut, and go question

1. If someone cuts a Jack, does he get Nobs for 2 points?
2. May be sophmoric, but if I can play more than one card after my opponent can no longer play, do I get a 'go' for each card I play? or only one til i'm done?

Danke!

Maybe and No

Only the dealer gets the 2 points for the jack being cut as the starter card, so if you are the dealer, then yes, take them. No, you cannot take more than one go, if you continue to lay down cards after your pone says 'go'. You can continue to score runs and pairs though. Hope that helps.

Nibs & Go

Hi Danke,
1) His Heels (nibs): Jack, when it is the starter card, counts two points for the dealer (www.cribbage.org).
2) In the case of "go" you score one point played for the hand, not for each card card played thereafter. So if you have three cards after the "go" and play each sequentially you will collect your one point at the end of play ( not including any points accumulated during your card counting to 31). The way I always looked at this was you get one point for having the last card.
Hope this helps!

Help counting points.

My husband had 3 threes. 3 of diamond, 3 of spades and 3 of heart.
A 9 of heart was the card up.
I said he had he 10 points.
He said he had more than 10 points because he kept switching the 3 cards.
He counted the 3 of spades with the 3 of hearts, and the 3 of hearts with the 3 of diamond and the 3 of hearts with the of spades. this did not make sense to me.
Which one of us is right?

Actually that is 12 points

Hubby was right. There are 3 sets of 15(D-H, H-S, S-D) and three of a kind is worth 6. Score that as 12 points.

12 point hand (assuming that

12 point hand (assuming that the other card in the hand does not score). Since 9+6 makes 15, you have to look at all possible combinations in the hand that add up to 6. In this case there are three possible combinations: 3D3S, 3D3H, 3S3H. Each combination when added to 9 gives 15. Three fifteens, each for two points, makes 6 points.

The other points come from the pairs, which follows the same sort of logic as before. This gives three pairs each for two points giving 6 additional points for a total of twelve.

straight flush

8,9,10, j, in hand all spades
turn up is q of spades
Score of 11?

Correct

That is correct you would score 11. Run of 5 pts, flush of 5 pts and the Jack of the correct suit for one pt.