Cribbage rules - the scoring

(Previous section: Cribbage rules - the go)

Having played out all the cards, both players then score their hands, pone first - this time including the turn-up card as part of both hands. The dealer's crib also includes the turn-up. Again, points are scored for 15s, runs, and pairs; you can also score for a flush (all cards of the same suit) - see the cribbage scoring chart below for a handy reference. It is a key part of the rules of cribbage that the non-dealer should score first - at the end of the game, both players may have enough points to win, and the right to score first will determine victory. The cribbage board's positions usually alternate during the game, with first one player leading, then the other. The trick is to be in the first-scoring position when you are close enough to win!

Cribbage flush

If the four cards in your hand are of the same suit, you score four for a flush (a cribbage flush, unlike in poker, doesn't beat three of a kind!). If the starter card is also of the same suit, you score five. However, in the crib you cannot score a four-card flush; all five must be the same suit. These rules occasionally have local variations, so check to make sure which rules are being used. In an official tournament, the American Cribbage Congress rules apply.

Some cribbage rules sites explicitly state that flushes are not scored in cribbage. This is incorrect, at least according to the American Cribbage Congress rules, which are the nearest thing to an official set of rules for cribbage.

Cribbage pairs

2 points are scored for a pair in cribbage, and 6 for a pair royal - that is, three cards of the same rank. This can be considered as 3 different pairs worth 2 points each. Similarly, double pair royal (four of a kind) scores 12 as there are 6 ways of picking two cards from four. You begin to see why mathematicians love this game.

Combinations of cards making 15 score two points each - for example, 8 and 7. As many ways as you can make 15 with your cards, you score 2 points for each of them. For example, 8-7-7-A can make 15 three ways: the 8 and one 7, the 8 and the other 7, and the 7-7-A. Consequently it scores 6 points (for 15s, and a further 2 for the pair of 7s).

Cribbage runs

Runs score as many points as there are cards in them. For example, a four-card run 9-T-J-Q scores 4.

Cribbage nobs

You also score 1 point if you have the Jack of the same suit as the starter card (known as 'his nob' or just 'nobs').

Cribbage scoring chart

You can print out this cribbage scoring chart and keep it handy when you're playing!

Score Value Comment
15 2 -
Pair 2 -
Pair royal 6 Three of a kind
Double pair royal 12 Four of a kind
Run 1 per card Runs need not be in numerical order (eg 3-5-6-4) but they must be consecutive (3-4-4-5 does not score).
Go 1 The go is scored by the last player to lay a card.
31 2 The 2 points for 31 includes a go (by definition no-one can go when the total is 31). So no extra point is scored for the go.
Nobs 1 "One for his nob" is scored if you hold the Jack of the turn-up suit.

Continue to Cribbage rules -example hands

No, it is only 12

The 8, 6, 6, 6, A is only 12 points, not 18. You don't get to count the pairs twice. (3-of-a-kind is really 3 pairs and as such gets counted as 6 points. 4-of-a-kind is really 6 pairs and as such gives you 12 points.)

cribbage

First off, I'm really new at this.
I'm confused about the scoring of the 6 6 6 8 A hand and scoring.
Seems as though it would be the A matched with each of the 6's to create 15-3=6. Then, match the A with the 8 for 3 more 15-3=6. Then, the Pair Roayl would = 6. Total of that is 18.
If I am wrong, please explain how. Thanks from the newbie.

Only 12 Colleen

Colleen, you can only use a card once(with other of the same cards) when making a combination that equals 15. So if you used each 6 with the Ace and 8, then you can't also use those sixes again with the 8 and Ace. It looks easier with suits, so lets say you have 6C, 6S, 6H and the 8 and Ace. When you count the 6Clubs with the Ace and 8, you can only do it once. That is one distinct 15...as are the rest of them. The total for the hand is 12, not 18.

Got it!

I understand now. Thanks so much!

scoring

In the play for 2-handed cribbage:

Player 1 - 7
Player 2 - 8 (15 for 2)
Player 1 - 6 (run of 3)
Player 2 - 8 Last Card 1pt but any points additional points for a run?

scoring

How would you score this hand: In hand 5, 7, 8 ,8 and the starter card is 6

A double-run of 4 is worth 10

A double-run of 4 is worth 10 points (2 runs of 4 for 8, plus the pair for 2).

There are two 15s (7-8, 7-8) for 4 more points.

14 points.

Hand 5 - 7 - 7 - 8 With 6 turned up

I agree score is Double run for 10 plus 2 15's for total 14 points.
Recently had a friend argue with me that this should be 2 double runs for 8 = 16 plus Fifteens for 4 = Total 20. How do I explain it to her?

Show her

You will probably have to show her and count each card as you go along. Good luck!

Tell her she is right, but

Tell her she is right, but she did not count the pair of 7s for 2 points.

There is not actually such a

There is not actually such a thing as a "double run". This is just a convenient way to explain the counting of that type of sequence for example 2C,2H,3,4 is really scored:

Run 2C, 3, 4 for 3
Run 2H, 3, 4 for 3
Pair of 2's for 2

Total of 8, since this always equals 8 it is easier to say Double Run for 8.

So if it is a four card run...Add an Ace

It is
Run 1, 2C, 3, 4 for 4 it can't be broken up as 1, 2, 3 and 2, 3, 4 for 6
Run 1, 2H, 3, 4 for 4
Pair of 2's for 2

Total 10 points.

Pegging Out

Opponents are basically five points from the finish and starting to count their cards in the '31' play. If an one player scores 6 points, is he allowed to peg out at this point?

scoring

can you tell me how to score a hand of 2,3,3,7?

There's one 15 (using all 4

There's one 15 (using all 4 cards) and a pair for 2 more points.

4 points.

counting points at the end of a game

ok,,question,,4456 and turn up card is a 10,,,can you count your hand as such,,,8 plus 2+2+2,,,to equal 14,,or do you have to count 15's first,,then the double run,,,is a feud with hubby and father-in-law,,,,please help

it doesn't really matter what

it doesn't really matter what order you score in, the total is still 14. But I think most people I play with would score the 15s first...

15-2, 15-4, 15-6, and a double run makes 14

counting points at the end of a game

ok,,question,,4456 and turn up card is a 10,,,can you count your hand as such,,,8 plus 2+2+2,,,to equal 14,,or do you have to count 15's first,,then the double run,,,is a feud with hubby and father-in-law,,,,please help

It doesn't matter what you

It doesn't matter what you count first. Just count all the points:

4-4-5-6 is a double run for 8 points.

4-5-6 is 15 for 2 points.
The other 4-5-6 is 15 for 2 more points.
10-5 is 15 for 2 points.

Me and my opponent have one

Me and my opponent have one card left each, I play a ten then they play a five for 15 for 2 do they get a go as well for 3 three points?

Yes.

Yes.

do you get a count of eight in the crib hand if the turn up card

my frind and i were playing and this came up and we got into an argument about it. i had in my crib hand 2,3,3,K,j THE turn up card was and ACE I took the points for the four fifteens which gave me 8 but i did not take them for the double count of a run of three. My friend took those six I said he was wrong to. was he or was I wrong for not counting them?

If you have agreed to play

If you have agreed to play the variation where you take points if your opponent misses them, then he gets 6 (or eight if he called the pair of threes)

Too many cards in the crib

Remember there should only be four cards in the crib, not 2, 3, 3, K, J with the starter card as the ace. Assuming that one of the ten value cards was not in there you would have had a hand with 12 points. (Two 15s and a double run of 8 for 12)

How Many Cards?

How many cards were in your hand? It looks like you have five cards 2, 3, 3, K, J and an Ace was turned as the starter card. (You said that you took 8 pts for fifteens!) You should only have 4 cards in your hand before the starter card is turned up and if that were the case you would have only had 4 pts from fifteens? Setting aside that part, you have to agree to play Muggins before the start of the game. If not then you would just miss out on those points, but he would not get them.

last card

I played the last card which happened to make 31........do I get 3 points...2 for 31 and 1 for last card...big arguement over this

Check the rules.

From the Cribbage Rules page, "The Go":

The cribbage rules for scoring 'go' sometimes cause confusion. You earn a point for go when your opponent cannot go. This may be (a) because he has no cards (sometimes called 'One for last'), or (b) because he cannot play without going over 31 ('One for the go'). In either case if you make the total 31 you score only 2 points on the cribbage board, not 3 (because the go is included, as described above). However, you may well make 15 with the last card (in which case you do score 3).

Flush & Run Combo

In my hand I have A, 2, 3, 4 of diamonds.... Cut is 8 of diamonds.... does the run and flush each get counted? I counted 13... (A, 2, 4, 8 for 15-2; 3,4 8, for 15-4; run for 4, flush for 5 = 13)checked it with a family member, and my oponent thought it was 13 as well.

Thanks :)

Yep.

That's what I get.

8-3-4 = 15 for 2
8-A-2-4 = 15 for 2
A-2-3-4 = run of 4
Five diamonds = 5

flush & nob

if i have 4 spades in my hand and one happens to be a jack the turn card is a spade do i get to count the 5 spades + the jack again for 1 point as the nob so a total of 6 points ?

3 of a kind during play by one player?

Hello, I play crib with my girlfriend often and today we had an interesting play happen. I finished my hand on a "go" and she had 3 cards left. Her three cards were all 6's. So she layed them down to make 18. Does she get 6 for three of a kind plus 1 for last card to total 7 points or does she get 2 for a pair then 6 for three of a kind then 1 for last card to total 9 points?.

3 of a kind during play by one player?

Hello, I play crib with my girlfriend often and today we had an interesting play happen. I finished my hand on a "go" and she had 3 cards left. Her three cards were all 6's. So she layed them down to make 18. Does she get 6 for three of a kind plus 1 for last card to total 7 points or does she get 2 for a pair then 6 for three of a kind then 1 for last card to total 9 points?.

3 of a kind during play by one player

This question is very similar to the first question on this page. I think the principle is that you score the cards 1 at a time so 9 points are scored.

Runs of 4

If I have a run of 4, say 5-6-7-8 and the turn up card is a 7, would you count the 4 runs of 3 separately? The way I would score it would be 5-6-7 x 2, 6-7-8 x2, 5-6-7-8 x2 and 7-8 for a total of 22.

Runs

That would be an incorrect scoring. Don't think of runs of 3 seperately, but look at your maximum runs and then count each one of them. In your example hand you have two runs of 4, plus two 15s, plus a pair. It should be scored as 15-2, 15-4, runs for 12, and a pair for 14. The score for that hand is 14, a very good score indeed.

scoring

player one puts a 10 point card down player two also put a 10 point card down making the count 20 then the 1st player put a 5 down making the count 25 but then calls for 2 points because the 2 cards showing a 10 and 5=15 i said no the counts 25 not 15 who is right

You are correct.

Since the "5" is played when the count is at 20, the count becomes 25. There are no points scored for this. You are correct.

scoring

player1 puts a 10point card player2 follows with a 10 point card then player1 puts a 5 down making the count25 but calls for 2 points because the 2 cards showing = 15 player2 says no the count is 25 not 15 who is right

Player 2 is right

Player 1 scores no points just for making the count 25.

scoring

I had four 6 in hand an a 3 turned up is the score 20 ?

Final Score is 24, not 20…

The four 6's form a Double Pair Royal for 12 points, as there are 6 ways of selecting a pair out of 4 cards. This can be shown by labeling the four 6's A through D and then matching them up: AB, AC, AD, BC, BD, and CD. Each pair is worth 2 points, that's 12 points so far.

Since each pair is composed of two 6's, and your fifth card is a 3, adding the 3 to the two 6's in each pair makes a "Fifteen for 2". Six "Fifteens" at 2 points each is worth 12 points.

Twelve points for the Double Pair Royal plus another twelve points for the 6 "Fifteens" brings your total score to 24 (not 20).

scoring

I had four 6 in hand an a 3 turned up is the score 20 ?

24...not 20

Same thing with the 7,7,7,7,A

Look at this with colors (it is easier for me that way)and put each one in a square with the 3 in the middle.

You have two black 6's and two red 6's.

6S 6C

3

6H 6D

Now work around the board clockwise starting with the 6S. So the first sequence would be 6S/6C/6D/6H or 15-6. (6pts)
Next move to the upper right corner 6C/6D/6H 15-10 (4 pts)
Lastly move to the lower right corner 6D/6H 15-12 (2 pts) For a total of 12 pts + 12 for the quads equals 24

49 point peg

Hey there. Nice site. I have a question that's boggeling my mind. I'm not new to crib. I play on an app on the Android market on my phone and in someone's stats they have 49 points for pegging in a single hand. This does not include the point value for the hand itself. What combination would you need if it is possible. Or I'm thinking this is a glitch in the game.

Even assuming that the person

Even assuming that the person was playing the '5 cards in the hand' variant, I can't find a way to reach 49 points (without including the points from scoring the hand/crib).

Pegging

I believe the highest you can peg in a normal two-person 6 card game would be 30 points. Both players would have to be holding the same cards (5,5,7,7) as an example. You are the dealer and the pone leads a 7. You pair for 2 and get the quad for 12 and the go for a total of 15. Same thing happens with the 5's for a total of 30. To get 49 in pegging it is either a glitch or playing some variation of the game that is not normally played.

A higher score than 30 is possible

A higher score than 30 is possible, if the '49-point player' is alllowed to peg their opponent's unclaimed points. As to what the max score would be, I'm not sure, even assuming that ALL of the opponent's points were claimed and it was a 'six-card' game (vs. the standard five).

Yea that's what I thought.

Yea that's what I thought. And it is a standard 2 person (6 card game) it is Cribbage pro on the Android market. Josh fuller the developer of the game has been around this site and forums. In case anyone wants to see for themselves. His name is jpuljas and he is #37 on the top 50 you can also see this from the app on Apple. The top 50 is for both. My name there is OafHuck and currently #34. Thanks for everyone's replies. And if you know of any other good sites to play crib I'm always interested.

Crib

Depending on what city you are in my Canadian friend please visit www.cribbage.org to view clubs and tournaments (real cards) that you might want to include yourself in. We had many, many Canadians from Edmonton, Vancouver, Kelowna etc at the Montana Open Championship this last weekend. Join a local club. Play in tournaments. You would have a blast.

Standard 5?

You must be from the UK. Nobody in North America plays a standard 5 card cribbage game. While their are variations of the game the American Cribbage Congress has set rules and formats and 5 cards is not one of them. Additionally, what you were speaking of is Muggins where you count unclaimed points from the the other player. That is rarely played as their are already penalties for overcounting your hand and you incur a penalty already for not counting all of your points (by not moving down the board). See cribbage.org for more information from the official cribbage website.

Is 456 worth 5 or 3 points?

I grew up playing cribbage with my grandfather and his friends. They always counted a run of 456 as only 3 points. They explained that you can never count the same combination of cards as two things (4-5-6 is a run of 3, but also adds up to 15) ,therefore, they counted a 456 for 3 points for the run and always neglected the 2 points for 15. In their minds, you can count the 4-5-6 combo as a run of 3, but then cannot count the same 4-5-6 combo as a 15 too. Everywhere else I have played, online or otherwise, has counted the 456 as 5 points. So which is it? Is the 456 worth 5 points or 3? Have my grandfather and his friends been wrong all this time?