Cribbage rules - the scoring

(Previous section: Cribbage rules - the go)

Having played out all the cards, both players then score their hands, pone first - this time including the turn-up card as part of both hands. The dealer's crib also includes the turn-up. Again, points are scored for 15s, runs, and pairs; you can also score for a flush (all cards of the same suit) - see the cribbage scoring chart below for a handy reference. It is a key part of the rules of cribbage that the non-dealer should score first - at the end of the game, both players may have enough points to win, and the right to score first will determine victory. The cribbage board's positions usually alternate during the game, with first one player leading, then the other. The trick is to be in the first-scoring position when you are close enough to win!

Cribbage flush

If the four cards in your hand are of the same suit, you score four for a flush (a cribbage flush, unlike in poker, doesn't beat three of a kind!). If the starter card is also of the same suit, you score five. However, in the crib you cannot score a four-card flush; all five must be the same suit. These rules occasionally have local variations, so check to make sure which rules are being used. In an official tournament, the American Cribbage Congress rules apply.

Some cribbage rules sites explicitly state that flushes are not scored in cribbage. This is incorrect, at least according to the American Cribbage Congress rules, which are the nearest thing to an official set of rules for cribbage.

Cribbage pairs

2 points are scored for a pair in cribbage, and 6 for a pair royal - that is, three cards of the same rank. This can be considered as 3 different pairs worth 2 points each. Similarly, double pair royal (four of a kind) scores 12 as there are 6 ways of picking two cards from four. You begin to see why mathematicians love this game.

Combinations of cards making 15 score two points each - for example, 8 and 7. As many ways as you can make 15 with your cards, you score 2 points for each of them. For example, 8-7-7-A can make 15 three ways: the 8 and one 7, the 8 and the other 7, and the 7-7-A. Consequently it scores 6 points (for 15s, and a further 2 for the pair of 7s).

Cribbage runs

Runs score as many points as there are cards in them. For example, a four-card run 9-T-J-Q scores 4.

Cribbage nobs

You also score 1 point if you have the Jack of the same suit as the starter card (known as 'his nob' or just 'nobs').

Cribbage scoring chart

You can print out this cribbage scoring chart and keep it handy when you're playing!

Score Value Comment
15 2 -
Pair 2 -
Pair royal 6 Three of a kind
Double pair royal 12 Four of a kind
Run 1 per card Runs need not be in numerical order (eg 3-5-6-4) but they must be consecutive (3-4-4-5 does not score).
Go 1 The go is scored by the last player to lay a card.
31 2 The 2 points for 31 includes a go (by definition no-one can go when the total is 31). So no extra point is scored for the go.
Nobs 1 "One for his nob" is scored if you hold the Jack of the turn-up suit.

Continue to Cribbage rules -example hands

scoring runs on a 'go'

My husband and I play cribbage twice every day. Today we ran into a scoring dilema that we just can't figure out. The count was at 22 and the last two cards played were 5 and 6. My husband said "GO" I held a 2, 3 and 4 in my hand. I layed down the 4 which gave me a 3 point run. Now it gets tricky. I then played the 3 which I thought gave me a 4 point run, then I played the 2 for a 5 point run, then 1 point for the 'Go'. For a total pegging score of 13 points. Our question is should I have just layed down all three of my cards and taken only the 5 point run and the 'Go'? Or was I correct to play one card at a time and score they way I did? Just so you know, I would have won the game anyway as I had first count and the points in my hand would have taken me to the finish. However, we disagree on my scoring. My argument is that I can only play one card at a time. My husband believes I should have layed all three cards at once!!! Thanks for your help.

Re: scoring runs on a 'go'

You score (and peg) for each card you play. So in your example you would have played the 4 and pegged 3 points for a 3-card run and one point for the go. Then you play the 3 and peg 4 points, and finally the 2 for a further 5 points. Nice play!

Re: scoring runs on a 'go'

In this example, wouldn't the total pegging points be 14 since 31 was reached?

The score wase 22. The last cards played were a 5 & 6 and that was a Go. The opponent played a 4 for 3 points, played a 3 for 4 points, then played a 2 for 5 points and reached 31 for 2 points (includes the 1 point for the Go).

if you get 31 you dont get a

if you get 31 you dont get a point for the go still just 2 for 31

31

Reaching 31 exactly always gives you two points and only two points. (technically, one for reaching 31 and one for the Go, but it is still only two points.)

Not Possible.

I believe the scenario outlined by the original poster is not possible. How could a 5 & 6 be the last cards played for a total of 22, she be left with 3 cards (2, 3, & 4) and her hubby be out of cards or unable to play?

She states the last 2 cards played were the 5 & 6 and then he said GO. Since she has 3 cards left this means she played 1 card and her hubby could only play 2 cards maximum either the 5 or 6.

How could the single card played prior to the 5 & 6 equal 11 points?

Let's say the total was really 21, since this is the largest feasable value for 3 cards with a 5 & 6. Why would her hubby say GO before she played one of her 3 cards?

Let's say she didn't remember the exact sequence of cards and she played the 4 and then he said GO. Now that sceI believe the scenario.

That Tricky Ace

You do remember that an ace can be one OR eleven, right? :P

Ace Equals One ... and Only One

An Ace in Cribbage is only worth one. Never eleven. Which is why it cannot be combined to form a run (after) the King. Hope that helps.

One card per play

I don't know if this is the actual rules, as I can't find it anywhere online, but my grandmother and I always play where you can't play more than one card in a turn, but you can still play on the pile, even if your opponent cannot (she gets mad at me when I try to play a pair to make 3 of a kind :P lmao). By those accounts, I'd say you deserved your 14 points (2 points for 31+GO) and your hubby should suck it up :P lol

Grandmothers...sigh

Grandmothers are great teachers but I have met many that sort of 'make' up the rules as they go along. I am not certain what "pile" you are referring to (this is cribbage, not rummy) but if a player says "Go" because they cannot play a card that will get them to/closer to 31, then the other player is REQUIRED to play all cards they have that will get them to/closer to 31. And they score any points on their way.

For instance. I hold 10, A, A, A

The player leads a King and I play the 10. [20] They play an 8 {28] and I play an Ace [29] . They say "Go". I now play a second ace for 2 pts [30] and my last Ace for 31 for 8 more pts. (the 3-of-a-kind and 31).

question on criggage

I am out of cards. My opponent has two cards left. He plays and says 10, then puts down a 6 and totals 16. Does my opponent score anything for ending the play at 16. He has no cards left, and I had no cards left when he started?

What is his score for ending the game?

Re: question on criggage

Hi Gayle,

Your opponent would score one point for 'last card'.

Scoring

If your score thirty one on the last play and had the last card as well do you get 31 for 2 and 1 for last card?

Re: Scoring

Unfortunately not, the 31 for 2 includes one for last card (or 'go').

Hi if you play your 2nd to

Hi if you play your 2nd to last card card for 31 you get the 2 points for 31. If you play your last card for 31, it can't include the 1 for last card. It sounds like you just don't get the 1 point for last card. This same reasoning would also say that if the last card was played for 15 you would also forfeit the 1 point for last card. Doesn't sound right to me.It would also question if your last card scored any points you should forfeit the 1 for last card. I have been playing crib for 45 years approx and have been taking the 2 for 31 and 1 for last card but haven't been challenged yet. maybe just lucky but it makes more sense. Tks.

Yes you can score 3 points

Yes you can score 3 points

Sorry Only 2 points

Sorry Christine, you can only score two points. Landing on 31 exactly can be thought of as getting one point for the 31 and one point for a "Go". Since the last card is technically a "Go" you already get the last card ("Go") point so you only get two points, never 3. www.cribbage.org has the complete rules.

Scoring a Triple Run

The question came up recently about the score for a triple run. According to almost every cribbage rule book we have been able to find, it is always scored as 15 without any 15-2 counted (i.e. K, Q, Q, J with cut as Q). Why is this not scored as 3 double runs or 24 points?

Re: Scoring a Triple Run

J-Q-Q-Q-K makes three runs: J-Q-K three different ways. Each run scores three because it is a run of three, so 3 x 3 = 9.

Scoring a triple run

the 8 points in a double-run are accumulated from 2x3-card runs (6 points) and a pair for 2 more. Looking at the K,Q,Q,J - Q hand, you would have 3x3 card runs (9 points) and a pair royal for the remaining 6 - a total of 15 points. Unless you get one more for the nob.

Yep, 15. Admin is wrong. 9

Yep, 15. Admin is wrong. 9 points for the three runs of 3, plus 6 for the 3-of-a-kind (which is 3 pairs).

good ques.

good ques.

Scoring a triple run

Runs are counted one point per card, so if the cards were K-Q-Q-J with the Q on the turn, your score would be nine; three runs of K-Q-J with 3 Qs. Hope that helps :)

15 not 9

A triple run is counted as 15 (not including any 15's) so, K,K,K,Q,J is scored as 15, not 9. 9 is for the runs + 6 for the trips. If you involve any 15's then it is more. 4,4,4,5,6 is scored at 21.

Scoring a hand

Hi,

My hand after discarding two consisted of 7,7,8,8.
It was my crib and a 6 was cut.
How many total points is this?
I scored it as four runs of three for 12 + 4 points for the two pair plus 8 for the 15s' for a total of 24.

You scored correctly :)

You scored correctly :)

how and where dose the sequience stop in the deck

now when playing and counting your score and if u have a j,q,k,a in the run do u have 3 points, or do you have 4 point? The way i was taught was No Around the world sequience. How is the offecal sequience laid

Re: how and where dose the sequience stop in the deck

scoring

I hold 3 sevens and i ace. how do I count it.4 or six
thank you

Let's see if I have the hang

Let's see if I have the hang of this: looks like the 3 7's are worth 6, and then each pair of 7's with the A gives you 15 for another 6. I think you have 12 points there Pat!

Scoring Help

If I have an 8, an A, and three 6's in total, do i score 2 points three times for adding up to 15 with each 8-A-6 combination for a total of 12 points (after adding the 6 points for the 3 of a kind)?

That is correct! 15-2, 15-4,

That is correct! 15-2, 15-4, 15-6, and three of a kind makes 12.

That is correct! 15-2, 15-4,

That is correct! 15-2, 15-4, 15-6, and three of a kind makes 12.

Correct

That is correct! 15-2, 15-4, 15-6, and three of a kind makes 12.

what about the pairs

There would also be 3 pairs of 6's. Total score 18

No, it is only 12

The 8, 6, 6, 6, A is only 12 points, not 18. You don't get to count the pairs twice. (3-of-a-kind is really 3 pairs and as such gets counted as 6 points. 4-of-a-kind is really 6 pairs and as such gives you 12 points.)

cribbage

First off, I'm really new at this.
I'm confused about the scoring of the 6 6 6 8 A hand and scoring.
Seems as though it would be the A matched with each of the 6's to create 15-3=6. Then, match the A with the 8 for 3 more 15-3=6. Then, the Pair Roayl would = 6. Total of that is 18.
If I am wrong, please explain how. Thanks from the newbie.

Only 12 Colleen

Colleen, you can only use a card once(with other of the same cards) when making a combination that equals 15. So if you used each 6 with the Ace and 8, then you can't also use those sixes again with the 8 and Ace. It looks easier with suits, so lets say you have 6C, 6S, 6H and the 8 and Ace. When you count the 6Clubs with the Ace and 8, you can only do it once. That is one distinct 15...as are the rest of them. The total for the hand is 12, not 18.

Got it!

I understand now. Thanks so much!

scoring

In the play for 2-handed cribbage:

Player 1 - 7
Player 2 - 8 (15 for 2)
Player 1 - 6 (run of 3)
Player 2 - 8 Last Card 1pt but any points additional points for a run?

No additional points scored

Unfortunately, no. You don't get any additional points for a run after playing the 2nd '8', because it plus the immediately previous cards do not constitute a run, and there is no 'Double Run' to be scored in the Play Phase. While the cards in a Play Phase run do not need to be played in numerical sequence ('2-3-4', '4-3-2', '3-4-2', etc. each form a 'Run of 3 for 3'), they *do* need to be *played* sequentially ('2-3-9-4' does not form a run, as the '9' breaks the sequence's continuity).

Had your 2nd '8' been instead a '7', only then would you have scored your own 'Run of 3 for 3' (formed by the '8-6' plus your '7'). Further, had your 2nd '8' been instead a '5' or '9', then you would've scored a 'Run of 4 for 4' (formed by the '7-8-6' plus your '5' or '9'), having added a card to an *end* of the 'Run of 3 for 3'.

Hope that helped!

J

scoring

How would you score this hand: In hand 5, 7, 8 ,8 and the starter card is 6

A double-run of 4 is worth 10

A double-run of 4 is worth 10 points (2 runs of 4 for 8, plus the pair for 2).

There are two 15s (7-8, 7-8) for 4 more points.

14 points.

Pegging Out

Opponents are basically five points from the finish and starting to count their cards in the '31' play. If an one player scores 6 points, is he allowed to peg out at this point?

Play Phase points are scored immediately

Yes. Phase points are scored immediately.

J

scoring

can you tell me how to score a hand of 2,3,3,7?

There's one 15 (using all 4

There's one 15 (using all 4 cards) and a pair for 2 more points.

4 points.

counting points at the end of a game

ok,,question,,4456 and turn up card is a 10,,,can you count your hand as such,,,8 plus 2+2+2,,,to equal 14,,or do you have to count 15's first,,then the double run,,,is a feud with hubby and father-in-law,,,,please help

it doesn't really matter what

it doesn't really matter what order you score in, the total is still 14. But I think most people I play with would score the 15s first...

15-2, 15-4, 15-6, and a double run makes 14

counting points at the end of a game

ok,,question,,4456 and turn up card is a 10,,,can you count your hand as such,,,8 plus 2+2+2,,,to equal 14,,or do you have to count 15's first,,then the double run,,,is a feud with hubby and father-in-law,,,,please help