Cribbage rules - the play

(Previous section: Cribbage rules - the turn-up)

The count

Following the deal, the discard and the turn-up, the hand proper begins.

In the playing phase of Cribbage, the players take it in turns to lay down a card, trying to make the running total equal to certain values. The non-dealer plays first and states the value of her card (for example, "ten" for a Jack). Court cards count ten (together with the face 10 they are known as the 'ten-cards', or 'tenth cards'). Ace counts one.

15 and 31

The dealer then plays a card, the value of which is added to the current running total. The player who makes the total exactly 15 scores two points ("fifteen-two"). Two points are also awarded for making 31. Additionally, you score a point if your opponent cannot play without going over 31 ("one for the go", or just "one for go"). You must play if you can (reneging is against the rules).

Pairs

If your card is the same rank as the last card played, you score two for a pair. If your opponent plays a third card of the same rank, he scores 6 for a "pair royal" (three of a kind). Four of a kind scores 12 ("double pair royal").

Runs

If the last 3 cards played form a sequence, the player making the sequence scores 3 for a "run". For example, 3-4-5 makes a run of 3 and so scores 3 for the player laying down the 5. If the opponent then plays a 6 (or a 2) to extend the sequence to 4 cards, she scores 4, and so on as long as the sequence is unbroken.

Sequence do not have to be in order. For example, if the play goes 7-9-6, you can then play an 8 to score 4 for a run of 4.

Continue to Cribbage rules - the go

You get 9 total

@jon...

Since the play always ends at either 31 or as close as you can get to it...if played that way....5,5,5...you get 6 for the triplets, 2 for the 15 and 1 for the go for 9 total.

Good question!

Odd Play

P1- 6
P2 - 6
P1 - 3
P2 - 4
P1 - 2
P2 - A
P1 - 4
P2 - 5

Player 2 gets 2 points for pair
Player 1 gets 3 points laying the 2 for a run
Player 2 gets 4 points laying the A for a run of 4

Then the arguement: does?
Player 1 get 4 points for the 4 for a run?
And then subsequently player 2 get 6 for the run of 6 that's buried in there?

Scoring

Here is the scoring in this sequence.
P1-6=0
P2-6=2 for pair
P1-3=2 for 15
P2-4=0
P1-2=3 for run
P2-A=4 for run
P1-4=0
P2-5=2 for 31

Hope that helps

same suit in a run during the play

hello, during the play we had a 3 point run all in the same suit. Might that score some more points?
ben

Flushes

Flushes are only scored while you count hands, not while pegging. Rules can be found at www.cribbage.org

Runs backwards and forwards

You will have to bear with me on this one. And quite possibly get a pack of cards out.

A plays 7
B plays 4
C plays 6
D plays 5

We all agree that is 4 for a run

Player A then knocks
Because his 7 has not been covered up
Player B plays 6

The play then was counted for a run of 3
B6
A7 (Not covered from being played first card)
C6

This was counted for a run is this correct.

Cribbage - why does a player get to go twice

I am using the new MS Cribbage game, and trying to figure out what is going on... sometimes, without apparent reasons, one of the player gets to keep playing even though the other is able to play without going over the 31 point... none of the instructions seem to explain this -- is it just a quirk of MS? or is there actual rules to explain all conditions that a player gets to go twice or more in a row?

score this please

ten.. 5.. 5.. 5.. 5..

fifteen for two
twenty: pair for two
twenty-five: three pair for six
thirty: four pair for twelve (plus potential GO)

nothing additional for inner combos of fifteen; right?

Inner fifteens?

How are there 'inner fifteens' when the count is at 20, 25 and 30? You are trying to count your hand and peg at the same time. Those are two VERY distinct and separate operations. Do not confuse to two and do not do them together. After you are done pegging then count your hand.

Counting a 5 card pegging run in cribbage

I played a 3, They played a 3 for 2pts, I played a 6, They played an Ace, I played a 5, they played a 2 and I played a 4, they played an Ace. Is there a 6 card run ..... from the second 3 to the 4?

3 3 = 2 points 6 1 5 2 4 = 6

3
3 = 2 points
6
1
5
2
4 = 6 points
1 = 1 for last card

Assuming the round ended on the ace

Do runs and pair possibilities restart at go?

I can't find any rules for my question.

Let's say the last card played was an 8, the dealer says go and the counts begins from 0.
If the Dealer now lays down an 8 - does it count as a pair?

Or after one player layed down a 3 and an ace and scores 2 for 31 and the second player now lays down a two. Does he score 3 (run) for 2?

Or does all this combinations need to happen within the way to 31?

All combinations

All runs, pairs etc. are 'reset' when someone plays the final Go card for the pegging. This can be exactly 31, or the final Go. You don't get to take a Go and then just because an 8 was last played on the way to 31, you get to take a pair. Besides, if you took the Go, it was dealer's turn to lead....unless they were out of cards...even though...NO you don't get to take the pair. Once someone takes a 31 or a Go score, you start completely over. Rules are found at cribbage.org

Thank you!

Great, thank you! It has been a few months since I asked this, but we are playing like this since then. It's a great game, we love it. I know cribbage.org but I couldn't find a rule regarding my problem back then.

Keep Pegging

Join a club or come to a tournament. That's where you will really learn how to play. Don't be shy. They will not bite and they will help you along the way. We want new players.

4 of a kind in play

During play, I played one 6. My opponent then played second 6 for 2. I then played a third 6 for 6. My opponent passed and I then played a fourth 6. Do I get another 12 points [ total 18]? If not, how do you score...
Thanks,
Lynn

Quads

Yes you get to score first 6 and then peg another 12 for the quads, but don't forget to peg either a Go or 31 for two. Since they said Go, you are entitled to at least one additional point and possibly two.