Cribbage rules - the play

(Previous section: Cribbage rules - the turn-up)

The count

Following the deal, the discard and the turn-up, the hand proper begins.

In the playing phase of Cribbage, the players take it in turns to lay down a card, trying to make the running total equal to certain values. The non-dealer plays first and states the value of her card (for example, "ten" for a Jack). Court cards count ten (together with the face 10 they are known as the 'ten-cards', or 'tenth cards'). Ace counts one.

15 and 31

The dealer then plays a card, the value of which is added to the current running total. The player who makes the total exactly 15 scores two points ("fifteen-two"). Two points are also awarded for making 31. Additionally, you score a point if your opponent cannot play without going over 31 ("one for the go", or just "one for go"). You must play if you can (reneging is against the rules).


If your card is the same rank as the last card played, you score two for a pair. If your opponent plays a third card of the same rank, he scores 6 for a "pair royal" (three of a kind). Four of a kind scores 12 ("double pair royal").


If the last 3 cards played form a sequence, the player making the sequence scores 3 for a "run". For example, 3-4-5 makes a run of 3 and so scores 3 for the player laying down the 5. If the opponent then plays a 6 (or a 2) to extend the sequence to 4 cards, she scores 4, and so on as long as the sequence is unbroken.

Sequence do not have to be in order. For example, if the play goes 7-9-6, you can then play an 8 to score 4 for a run of 4.

Continue to Cribbage rules - the go


opponent started with a 3, i threw a 4, they a 5 for 3 points, i a 6 for 4 point, they a ace for =15 for 7 points, i a 6 for 6 points and then they a 3 for 4 points. This isn't right is it. The 3 breaks the run , right?

The play went 3, 4, 5, 6.. so

The play went 3, 4, 5, 6.. so there was a score of 3 and a score of 4 for runs.. a total of 18 played. Then an ace is played.. so the total is 19. No points are scored there. Then a 6 is played, total is 25 and still no other scores.. (3 4 5 6 A 6 has no more running cards past the first 6).

Rules rules

Why would the ace get 7 points, it's only worth two points for the count being 15, the ace does not have anything to do with the run

scoring sequence in play

How do you score the following sequence made in play? A 7 was played first followed by a 9 and then a 8 to make a sequence of three for 3 points. Here is the questions: My playing partner then played a 7. Is this another sequence of three for 3 points and 2 points for 31?

re: scoring sequence

Yes, your parntner gets 3 points for the run of 7, 8, 9, the last 3 cards played where the sequence was not broken. And the 2 points for 31. If 8 or 9 were played first your partner would be out of luck because the first 7 played would have interrupted the second sequence.


Thanks this is extremaly helpful, my dad and i have been arguing for hours over this :P

Runs during pegging.

Playing 2 hand crib, the sequence went 6 6 5 5 4. I played that last 4 and went first with the 6. Are there no double triple run scoring during the pegging. Or whatever this part of the game is called?


This topic is covered extensively below. There are two distinct scoring phases in cribbage. The play and the show. There are NO double and triple runs in the play, only in the show. I do not know what you mean you played the last 4 and first with the 6. You would have to show me the entire sequence, but regardless, you can only score pairs, runs and 15's in the play. There are no flushes and there are no double or triple anything. Hope that helps. for more info.

I'm afraid only two points

I'm afraid only two points are scored for each pair. Runs must be continuous and unbroken.

5, 6, 7, 7... = 1 pair. Or = 1 pair and 2 x run of 3?

This is for 3 player cribbage.
The play sequence
5, 6, 7, 7

The first 7 is worth 1 run of 3. What is the second 7 worth?

The two ways to look at it are

A) Just a pair


B) A pair and also 2 runs of three?

Well, I don't play much

Well, I don't play much 3-hand Crib, but in 2-hand Crib, there are no double runs during pegging. So, it would be just the pair.

Just a pair. There are no

Just a pair. There are no double, double-double or triple runs in play.

run sequence during play

I came upon a run that I had never encountered before. During play it went:4,7,5,3,6. This is counted as 5 points right? It doesn't matter what order it is in or does it? Also, the person that I was playing with today got a perfect hand! I had never seen that before! Anyway, thanks!


Runs do not have to be insequential order, so you were correct. That run scores 5 points, and if a 2 was played as the 6th card, it would have scored 6 points!

run sequence during play

so the play went like this: 4,7,5,3,6. This 5 points? Does the run have to be in order? Wasn't sure. Thanks.

Scoring Runs while pegging

We had an unusual situation the other day. I started with 2 my wife played 3 I played 4 for a total of 3 points. My wife then played another 4. I know she gets the pair for the 4s but is that also then considered a double run. The play then continued with a five each then she played another 5 and I had a six. Through all that we still didnt score 31 but how do you score all of the double and triple runs. Very confusing.


There are no double or triple runs in pegging, only runs. In your example, the second four 'broke' the run and would be scored only as a pair. Two additional cards, such as your 5 and her 6 could then be used to make another 3-card run, but the initial run was broken by the second four.

Runs in cribbage

Played 4
Played 6
Played 5
Played 7
Played 3

The person playing the 3 has covered the 4. Can this sequence be scored as 5 points for the last player in a four-handed game.


Yes! Absolutely! Here is your sequence 4, 6, 5 (15 for 2 and the run of 3 for 5!), 7 for a run of 4, and 3 for a run of 5. Since we are only up to 26 on the count even a 2 and an Ace could be played at this point for a run of 6 and even 7. (they haven't covered the run because there are still outside cards--the 3 and 8 that will continue the run)

Happy Pegging!

Run During Play

Quick Question as this came up last night in 3-handed, play went as follows:
(1) - 10 (10)
(2) - 5 (15 for 2)
(3) - 3 (18)
(1) - 4 (22 for 3)
(2) - 6 (28 for 4)
(3) - 3 (31 for ?)

I was player 2 in this case, and I believe the last card played, 3 (31) to be for only 2 points as the 5 has been covered. The player contested to say that he was continuing (replacing the 3) the run by playing the 3 and that it should be 31 for 7 (5 and 2 for 31). Who is correct?

Only 31

You were correct. The last card played is worth only 31. You cannot take the run past a card of the same rank.

The last three, four or five

The last three, four or five cards played are not a sequence, so there is NO run. Only a 2 could have been played by player 3 for a run of five. Player 1 could have subsequently played an Ace for 8 holes.

There were some runs

The play of the 4, and the 6 both constitute runs and should be scored 3 points and then 4 points. It was the second 3 card played that broke the run.


Just to make it clear....again....runs DO NOT need to be in any sequence, they just need to be an unbroken run when they are played. A 7 followed by a 9, followed by an 8 is a 3 point run. It doesn't matter in which order they were played, just that they were played and no cards were played between them. go to rules and then runs.

You are correct!

The last card played (the 3) is no longer in a run, because it was played after the 5. If it had been played before the 5, then you would still have a run. The peg to 31 is only worth 2 points.

the play went like this

the play went like this 4,3,5,6,1 and then a 2. Does the 2 make this a count of 6 for a run?


Yes, as stated before on several posts, that run scores 6 points...add a 7 and it scores 7.


If you get 31 on the last play of pegging, do you still get a point for last card (therefore 3 points total, 2 for the "31" and 1 for last card)? Or do you not get the "last card" point for last card because you got 31?

Pegging to 31

You only get two points for getting to 31 no matter when it happens. Getting to 31 exactly is considered a point for a 'go' (because no one can play) and a bonus point. Since you are already getting the point for the 'go', you do not get another point for last card, because last card is technically a 'go' (because no one can play) and that is included in the 31. Hope that helps!


Can u count runs going clockwise and counter clockwise in the same hand



I'm not really sure what the question is. Can you give an example?


Ok, I laid a 7, he laid an 8, I laid another 7 then he laid a 6 and took 3 points for a run. I am under the impression that is incorrect because my second 7 broke the run. Please help!

Your second 7 recreated the

Your second 7 recreated the opportunity for the run. If the cards were played in the succession you said, 7, 8, 7, 6; the 6 results in a run of 3 (8,7,6); resulting in 3 points.


Your opponent was correct the way you described it. The 7 then 8 then 7 then 6, the last three cards were 8,7,6 which qualifies for a run. Hope that helps.

Pluggin during play

The scenerio:
Player A: 7
Player B: 8 (plugs 2 for 15)
Player C: 9 (plugs 3 for the run)
Player D: passes (as only has face cards which goes over 31)
Player A: 6 (Does A plug 1 point for the go or 5 [4 for the run plus 1 for the go]?)

My brother and I have google searched many times for over a month now trying to find how to score this situation. We've seen it played both ways.

We've read online that since Player D passes it interrupts the run thus Player A only gets 1 for the "go".
We've also read online that they would be able to count the run when they plug.

What is the absolute rule on it? How would it be ruled during an official tournament?

Take 5

A player passing doesn't interrupt a run or prevent a pairing. So take 4 for the run and 1 for the go.

Take 5

A player passing doesn't interrupt a run or prevent a pairing. So take 4 for the run and 1 for the go.

Crib rules

If one run is scored, say with a 2,3,4, can a further 2 score another 3 points ie forwards and backward runs?
If I'm the dealer and I'm holding 4 same suit cards and the nobs card is of the same suit, is my count 5 or 9 based on no other counting sequences .

further 2 is 3 more

That's if you're pegging, of course. Take 5 for the five card flush.

if I put a card down and my

if I put a card down and my opponent says go can I form a run on my side of the table like say she has a 5 on her side and I can put down a 4 and three cuz she said go after putting down that 5. Does the run still count for me ?


Her: 5 (she ran outta cards after putting this)

Me; I put a 4 down then a 3

Does this count as a run for me or does it have to go back and forth only like she lay a 5 me lay a 4 she lay a 3 me a 2 like that? Or does this situation work that I showed where I would get 3 points ?

Run for you

A player saying go (passing) just leaves the scoring open to you. You could then play a two for a new run of 4, etc. up to 31.

Not in order

Runs do NOT have to in order to count.

Played 4 7 5 6 3 2 we have

Played 4 7 5 6 3 2 we have that part figured out ok but then I play a 4 do I get another three points for 2 3 4 and the 31 or just the 31

Cribbage runs

As the number 4 is used already in a previous run I believe you can not us it again. So I would score only 2 points for the 31. I do not play both forward and backward runs. ie- 1,2,3 then another 1 does not give another run.


Even if you do not play that way, that is allowed and in the rules of cribbage. A, 2, 3, A. The second ace is another distinct run of 3 points.

Actually score 8

You would actually have another run of 6 + the 31 for a total of eight points.

My opponent had one 5 in his

My opponent had one 5 in his hand, I had 2, they were the last 3 cards between us pegging. I lay down 1st, he pairs for 2. When I lay down the last 5, it ended on 15. Do I get a point for last card for a total of 9 or does ending on a 15, count the same as a 31 where last card doesn't get an extra point?

Last Card

Playing the last card always gets you at least one point because your opponent cannot play anymore. That means a Go. A Go means one point unless you hit 31 exactly where you essentially get a Go plus a bonus point.

Yes, you score 9 points.

Yes, you score 9 points. Hitting 31 scores you 2 points and last card of game always scores a point. So last card played on 31 would be 3 points.


The last card landing finally on a 31 is NOT worth 3 points, it is only worth 2. Landing on 31 exactly no matter when you play is only worth 2 points. The Go (last card) is included in the 2 points. You don't get an extra Go just because it is the last card. The last card is a Go.