Cribbage Pegging Broken Run

Cribbage Play went

Me - 4
Him - 2
Me - 3 for 3 points
Him - Ace for 4 points
Me - 5 for 7 points
Him - 2
Me - 4

Do I get 5 points because the last 5 cards form a run, or not because he broke the run with the 2?

Runs

Correct. The run was re-established when you played the 4.

Cribbage Pegging Broken Run

I think that you pegged for the run. It doesn't matter that he broke the run. Just as you could have a sequence of 1-4-2-? and add a 3 to make the run. Same situation here.

Even some experienced players

are convinced that this can't be right. This came up in a 4-player game tonight. A 4-3-5 run was pegged for 3 points, then player four played an ace, no points. Player one (who had begun the sequence with the 4) then played a 2 for a run of 5 (4-3-5-1-2). Player four argued that the ace had broken the sequence and no further runs could be scored because runs can't be patched together past 4 cards. I had never heard of this, so we took the five.

What's weird is that player four learned to play as a kid (or for about 30 years), all without realizing that you could peg a five card run out of order. That's thirty years of unscored five card pegging runs left on the table.

Kitchen Cribbage

Unfortunately we see this time and time again. Folks playing cribbage either learned it from a parent or Grandparent who really didn't 'know' the rules or maybe they were taught by their Grandparents. Either way, there is now standard rules that are easily accessible at www.cribbage.org Please be cautious when you call someone an experienced player. Driving a tractor for 30 years doesn't really mean you can get in a car and go onto the interstate.