Counting

How many points would 3 sevens 1 eight and an ace be?

Count it

7, 7, 7, 8, A

7, 7, 7, 8 is three 15's for 6 points

7, 7, 7, A is three 15's for 6 points

7, 7, 7 is three pairs for 6 points

Total is 18 points

what is 4x5s in hand and jack turns up

I am not sure how to count the 5s

28 Hand

Four 5's with any 10-card on the cut is worth 28 points.

24 4 pts for the 2 (15') 8

24
4 pts for the 2 (15')
8 pts for the 4 (15's) off the J
12pts for the 4 of a kind

Re: what is 4x5s in hand and jack turns up

The turned up jack would have scored two points (heels) immediately, to the dealer, so would not be counted again in the hand count.

The hand count would be 28. With jack, there would be 4 counts of 15 = 8 points. With just the 5's, there are another 4 counts of 15 = 8 more points for a total of 16. Next, the 5's make four-of-a-kind for an additional 12 points. 16+12=28.

To make 29, the jack would have to be held in the hand with three of the 5's and the turned up 5 would have to be the same suit as the jack, for that "held in hand" jack to get the extra point for "nobs."

4x5 = 24 points because you have 8 points for the 5s then 4 doub

24 points because you have 8 points for the 5s = 15. then 4 doubles = 8 then 8 points for the jack +5. For a grand total of = 24 points. But if jack is same suit as the lead card played add one so 25 points for the nob

Completely Incorrect

Unfortunately, there is nothing in this post that is correct. Four 5's with any ten card is equal to 28 points, not 24. Look at the fives using suits to form 15s. Red, Red Black. Red, Red Black. Black, Black Red, Black Black Red. Those four equal 8 points, then the 15's with the ten card equal another 8 points. Then the quads (6 pairs) equal 12 points. 8+8+12=28. Additionally, you cannot get 25 points in a hand. Ever. It is not possible. It doesn't matter what the 'lead' card is.

Scoring four 5's and any 10 card

28 Points:

8 Points for four J-5s
8 Points for the four 5-5-5 triples that total 15
12 Points for the six pairs in four-of-a-King

Number of points for 5's in hand and Jack is cut card

5,5,5,5,Jack is four 15's for 8 points
5,5,5,5 is four 15's for 8 points
The cut card being a Jack, that's Nibs for 2 points

Total points 18 (feel free to recheck me but that's what I got)

Incorrect

This is wrong in so many ways. First of all cutting a jack does not count towards counting your hand. IF you were dealer you would get two points (IF) and that would happen BEFORE pegging so that does not count towards counting your hand. Also, did you not want to count any points for your four fives? That is 12 points that you are not counting. Any four fives and a face card is ALWAYS 28, unless the 5 cut is the same suit as the jack you are holding and then it is 29.

Number of points for 5's in hand and Jack is cut card

Shouldn't the total be 30?

5,5,5,5,Jack is four 15's for 8 points
5,5,5,5 is four 15's for 8 points
Double Royal Pair for 12
The cut card being a Jack, that's Nibs for 2 points

Number of points for 5's in hand and Jack is cut card

To recheck (as asked in the post above) two errors noticed. The 15's were counted, but the pairs were overlooked in the count. The four 5's make 6 pairs ("double pair royal") for 12 points.

Also, a previous post in this thread mentioned that the upturned Jack ("starter card") would have been immediately pegged for two points when turned up. So those two points would not be added again during the hand count, later. (And, ONLY the dealer would score those two points when a Jack is turned up as the "starter card." The "pone" (non-dealer) does not score that starter Jack.

So, without adding in "his heels" (a Jack as "starter") to the hand count, the count of 18 (in the post above) is down to 16. Then add in the missed "double pair royal" (6 pairs) for 12 more points to reach 28 points for the hand.

I can never remember which is "his heels" vs. "his nobs" vs. "nibs." One book I have mentions "his nobs" as being a Jack, held in hand, if it is the SAME SUIT as the starter card. This scores ONE point during the hand count. A Jack turned up as the "starter card" is called "his heels" and is ONLY scored by the dealer, and is pegged (2 points) immediately upon being turned up. It is NOT, therefore, counted in the hand count.
Reference book: Hoyle's Rules of Games, Second revised edition (by Albert H. Morehead and Geoffrey Mott-Smith). MANY books have the same title, so the authors are the important indicator for the same book. Now in a Third edition (or later, depending on when you read this post).

Count Again

Incorrect. BUZZZZZZZZ. Try again and this time don't count the 2 pts for cutting the jack. That is NOT part of scoring your hand.

4 queens with 5 cut what's my

4 queens with 5 cut what's my score?

20 12 for the queens + 8 for

20
12 for the queens + 8 for the 4 15's

4 queens with 5 cut what's my score

Hi Tammy. The queens, one at a time, taken with the 5 create four 15's (8 points).

The four queens make 6 pairs ("double pair royal") for 12 points.

Total count = 20 points.

your score is 20. You can

your score is 20. You can make 8 points with the 15's + 12 points for the 4 queens.

12 for the 6 pairs and 8 for

12 for the 6 pairs and 8 for the 4x15s is 20

Please read above

Tammy if you read any of the sections above your post you should know the answer.

20 Four fifteens. 8

20

Four fifteens. 8 points
Four queens. 12 points

20 Four fifteens. 8

20

Four fifteens. 8 points
Four queens. 12 points