Recent comments

  • Uneven number of teams in a tournament   11 years 49 weeks ago


    We've got a page on tournament rules here: Cribbage tournaments

    In a round-robin tournament, each team would play every other, so it doesn't matter if there's an odd number. In an elimination tournament (which it sounds like yours is) a team with no opponent is usually awarded a bye (a free pass to the next round, so the equivalent of a winning score - usually 2 points).

    I hope this helps!

  • Cribbage board   11 years 50 weeks ago

    Custom Cribbage Boards are made from wood and quality-made and very affordable for the holidays.

  • experience?   11 years 50 weeks ago

    I have played on there but not for a while. There's a full review on the Online Cribbage page, though I'm not sure that'll help you much!

    If you're a beginning player, check out the strategy guide for some useful tips.

  • scoring runs during play?   11 years 51 weeks ago

    Don't worry, you're not the only one to be confused! I get a lot of emails asking about how to score runs and pairs in Cribbage.

    I suggest remembering the following simple rule:

    The player who completes a run scores the number of cards in that run

    So in your first example, the 3-2-A run was already completed before the opponent played the Ace, so the Ace doesn't complete a new run, so it only scores for the pair.

    In the second example, 3-3-2-A, the Ace completes a run of 3, so scores 3. A further Ace doesn't complete any runs, so it doesn't score.


  • scoring 15-2   12 years 22 weeks ago

    You are correct.

    Although you can score in the play from pairs or runs regardless of the count, you can ONLY score 15-2 if you make the total count 15. You cannot score just for playing a card which makes 15 when added to the previous card.

  • Cribbage web sites   12 years 41 weeks ago

    Design your own custom cribbage board.

  • Scoring a run in the play   12 years 42 weeks ago

    Actually, this answer is slightly incorrect. Player 2 does NOT get a point for go at the time that Player 1 announces the go. Player 2 must play out the remaining playable cards (in this case, both of his remaining cards) before taking a point for the go. He does get the 3 peg points for the run of 3 (A-2-3) and 4 more points for the run of 4 (A-2-3-4) and THEN he gets 1 point for last card. He earns a total of 8 points in pegging this hand.

  • scoring   12 years 48 weeks ago


    During the play, you can only score 'fifteen-two' once - when you make the total 15. If you make the total 31, you can score another two points. Although you can count runs (eg 4-5-6) during the play, combinations of cards making 15 don't count for anything, unless they make the total 15.

    They do count during the scoring phase of course. I hope this helps!

  • "Go" rule   13 years 7 weeks ago

    Better phrasing is that Player A shouldn't take his point until after he plays his ace. Because if he had a deuce left over, he would not get 1 for the go and then 2 for the 31, just the 2 for the 31.

  • "Go" rule   13 years 8 weeks ago


    The answer to Question 1 is yes. You score a point for go when your opponent cannot play without going over 31.

    What happens next is that Player A plays as many cards as he can without going over 31. No more points are scored (unless there are any runs, pairs, etc).

    Question 2 does not apply, as Player A should not call 'go' when he is done. A new count is started instead. Player A plays his Jack and scores a point for last.

  • impossible scores   13 years 15 weeks ago

    Yes, 25, 26 and 27 are all impossible cribbage scores, along with 19!

    It might be interesting to try and prove it though!

  • Mucking crib   13 years 16 weeks ago

    I'd say that all cards should be shown at the scoring stage. For one thing, there might be muggins points to claim!

  • Scoring a run in the play   13 years 16 weeks ago

    Here's another twist on this, from Gmommy7702:

    We are having a problem understanding a play, first a 3 was played and then a 2 and then a 1 then the next person played a 2 and was told that they earned another 3 points.

    could you please let me know what the rules say about this play?

    I find it helpful to think about it the way it's phrased above:

    Each card played scores points for any run it completes

    In other words, if it doesn't complete a run of 3 or more cards, it doesn't score. The sequence 3-2-1 is a run, so the player playing the 1 pegged 3 points. The player who played the 2 after that did not complete a run (the 3-2-1 run had already been completed and scored) so should not have pegged any points.

  • Cribbage web sites   13 years 17 weeks ago

    Check out - pretty sweet crib online game!

  • How to score two 8's, two 6's and an Ace?   13 years 19 weeks ago

    First count the 15s. There are 4 ways of making 15 by choosing 8-6-A from the hand, making 8 points.

    Then you have two pairs, for 4 points. A grand total of 12!

  • Does anyone still play cribbage?   13 years 24 weeks ago

    I certainly play cribbage a lot! My husband and I are keen players and we often meet up with friends for a game or two. My kids like to play cards also, I would certainly rather they are doing something interactive, than watching TV.