Recent comments

  • Question?   18 weeks 1 day ago

    I would throw 3-6 in my opponent's crib, keeping 3-3-4-5 for 10 points.

    If I'm the dealer, I will usually do the same, but depending on the situation, I might...

    Keep 3-4-5-6 for 7 points + 2 in my crib, giving me more pegging options in a tight endgame situation.

    If I'm behind by a big margin, I will keep 3-3-3-6 with 4-5 in my crib, and get on my knees... the miracle might come in the form of a 6 starter card, which would turn my hand into a 14-count, and 5 in the crib plus whatever opponent is putting into it.

    And this is an opponent who is likely not to hold a 5, and thus likely to find their face cards worthless...

  • scoring runs during play?   18 weeks 1 day ago

    No, a "go" breaks the sequence of cards played.

    As a reminder, you may want to flip the played cards face-down after a 31 or a "go". This means the played cards can't be used to make runs!

  • Scoring a hand   18 weeks 1 day ago

    10-J-Q1-Q2 + Q3 is a triple run which is worth 15 pts:

    10-J-Q1 is a run (3)
    10-J-Q2 is another run (3)
    10-J-Q3 is another run (3)
    Q1-Q2 is a pair (2)
    Q1-Q3 is a pair (2)
    Q2-Q3 is a pair (2)

    Total 15 pts.

  • impossible scores   18 weeks 1 day ago

    You don't get to count "4 for hearts" because you don't have four hearts in your hand.

    Total = 15 pts.

  • Double and triple runs   18 weeks 1 day ago

    That's a "quadruple run" - there are four different ways to make a run of three cards, for example if your cards are 4 of hearts, 4 of spades, 5 of hearts, 5 of spades, 6 of diamonds you get:

    3 pts for 4h-5h-6d
    3 pts for 4s-5h-6d
    3 pts for 4h-5s-6d
    3 pts for 4s-5s-6d
    Total = 12 pts for the runs

    In addition, you have 4 pts for the two pairs. So any quadruple run is worth 16 pts for runs and pairs:

    1-2-2-3-3 = 16 pts
    10-10-J-Q-Q = 16 pts

    But wait, we haven't counted the fifteens yet!

    With 4-4-5-5-6, there are four ways to make 15 (taking one of the 4's, one of the 5's and a 6) so that's worth an extra 8 pts.

    Total = 24 pts!

  • scoring runs during play?   18 weeks 3 days ago

    You actually score 4 plus an extra 1 for the "go". The run was 2-3-4-5

  • scoring runs during play?   18 weeks 3 days ago

    Katy, the run was never broken. The only way to break a run is to play a card that has already been played. The ace just set it up so that the 2 could be played. What would have been even more fun was if this happened: 3, 4, 5, 6, Ace, 7 and THEN play your 2. Even though neither the Ace or the 7 contributed to the 3, 4, 5, 6 run, they both set it up for a run of 7. (which is the highest run you can get)

  • scoring runs during play?   18 weeks 3 days ago

    It actually gives you a run of 4 and last card. 5, 2, 3, 4, 5. The start and the finish both have uninterrupted runs of 4.

  • Double and triple runs   18 weeks 3 days ago

    What is your question. The score of that hand is 24

  • Cribbage rules   18 weeks 3 days ago

    Scoring to 31 only gives you points when you are pegging, not in your hands.

  • Cribbage rules - the scoring   18 weeks 3 days ago

    Where would you like to go?

  • Cribbage rules - the scoring   18 weeks 3 days ago

    We do not give points for getting to 20. Only 15 and you did not have a pair.

  • Cribbage rules - the scoring   18 weeks 3 days ago

    No. You must take the largest possible run once. That example is a run of 4.

  • Cribbage rules - the scoring   18 weeks 3 days ago

    If someone misses scoring a run, it doesn't "go" to anyone. They just missed it. If the next player can continue the run of either 3 or 4, then they can take it, but you don't get to claim someone else's points unless you are playing muggins.

  • impossible scores   18 weeks 3 days ago

    This is not poker. ALL of the cards in your hand must the the same suit in order to score points. If all of the cards in your hand were the same suit, then you could not have a double run. Your hand was worth 15, not 19.

  • Cribbage rules - the play   18 weeks 3 days ago

    The last card landing finally on a 31 is NOT worth 3 points, it is only worth 2. Landing on 31 exactly no matter when you play is only worth 2 points. The Go (last card) is included in the 2 points. You don't get an extra Go just because it is the last card. The last card is a Go.

  • Pairs and triples   18 weeks 5 days ago

    If your last two cards played are the same rank as the previous one played you would score 2 for a pair, 6 for trips and one for the last card (Go).

  • scoring runs during play?   18 weeks 6 days ago

    Ok we had a run 3,4,5,6,ace (ace did not score a run. Now 2 was laid is that 6 for 6 run or was the run broken at ace?

  • Cribbage rules - the scoring   19 weeks 6 hours ago

    If you have played all your cards but your opponent still has cards do you get to go?

  • Cribbage rules - the scoring   19 weeks 13 hours ago

    If a 5 is played then a 10 15 for two then a 5 is played is it 20 for two

  • 500 Cribbage   19 weeks 18 hours ago

    On the second bullet, it states "... and four-of-a-kind, known as pair royal (12)." Although as a cribbage player I have never heard the pair royal term, reading other sections of this website makes me believe a pair royal is three of a kind (6 points) and that a four of a kind (12 points) is a double pair royal. True?

  • The discard   19 weeks 1 day ago

    I was raised in a household that referred to a zero score in hand or crib as "What Paddy shot at".

  • impossible scores   19 weeks 2 days ago

    Your son's hand : 33345 is worth 21 points. You get 6 points for the 3 15s, 3 runs of 3 cards (3-4-5) for 9 pts, and finally 6 pts for 3 of a kind.
    So you add 6+9+6 = 21.
    Cheers, Y.

  • Cribbage tournament rules   19 weeks 3 days ago

    A player must always vocally. Calling out each score helps the opponent understand the points.
    For the second question, we cribbage players count 15's first. Try it in a game and you will realize how backwards it will feel.

  • Cribbage rules - the go   19 weeks 3 days ago

    yes - you must play if you can, but can choose what order if there are multiple cards in your hand to be played.