Recent comments

  • impossible scores   18 weeks 1 day ago

    Correct on claiming the Jack for two points when it is turned over as the starter card and you are the dealer. Now there are a lot of things that are going to happen between now and when you get to count your hand. You MIGHT not even get to count your hand if your opponent goes out! Anyway do you also count the pegs that you made as part of your hand? Let's say that They lead a 10 you play a 5 for 2 points, they play a 6 to 21, you play a 5, they say go and you play another 5 for 31 for 4 points. Then they play another 10 and you play another 5 for another two points. Do you get to say that your hand is now worth 6 points of pegging 2 for the jack and 28 in your hand for a total of 36 points? No you don't. Each of these are separate parts of cribbage and are NOT scored together. Hands are only worth what they are scored when you count your hand. Pegging, nobs and nibs are completely different and are NOT part of your hand. Only your hand is counted as your hand. Your total holes that you moved down a board might be 30, or even more, but the count of your hand is only 28 and cannot exceed 29.

  • impossible scores   18 weeks 1 day ago

    5+5+5 equals ? This is probably one of the most miscounted hands in all of cribbage. You have 21 points here, not 19. 3 fives and two face cards always scores AT LEAST 20 points.

  • Scoring   18 weeks 2 days ago

    J,Q,Q,K then cut a K no nobs

    Double double run of three for 16?

  • Please score this for me   18 weeks 4 days ago

    Hi

    4 player game, players 1 & 3 have played out their cards. Player 2 plays last card ( a 5), player 4 plays a 5 - 10 for 2, then play their last card, also a 5, 15 for 2 plus 6 for the 3 x 5s, do you also get a point for it being the last card? We were told no as the last card was played on a scoring number (15), they stated its the same as finishing on 31?

    Hope that makes sense!!

  • Cribbage rules - the scoring   18 weeks 5 days ago

    There is not actually such a thing as a "double run". This is just a convenient way to explain the counting of that type of sequence for example 2C,2H,3,4 is really scored:

    Run 2C, 3, 4 for 3
    Run 2H, 3, 4 for 3
    Pair of 2's for 2

    Total of 8, since this always equals 8 it is easier to say Double Run for 8.

    So if it is a four card run...Add an Ace

    It is
    Run 1, 2C, 3, 4 for 4 it can't be broken up as 1, 2, 3 and 2, 3, 4 for 6
    Run 1, 2H, 3, 4 for 4
    Pair of 2's for 2

    Total 10 points.

  • Cribbage rules - the scoring   18 weeks 6 days ago

    Only if the total points since the last go was 15 would you score 15 for 2.

  • Cribbage rules - the scoring   18 weeks 6 days ago

    Tell her she is right, but she did not count the pair of 7s for 2 points.

  • How to score this hand?   19 weeks 13 hours ago

    I had a 2244 in my hand. the turnover card was 3. What is my score.

  • Please score this for me   19 weeks 1 day ago

    3333 6 how do you score this hand

  • impossible scores   19 weeks 2 days ago
    19

    You are dealt:
    5 of diamonds
    5 of clubs
    5 of hearts
    Jack of hearts

    The cut card is: 10 of hearts

    That would be 19

  • scoring runs during play?   19 weeks 3 days ago

    5 in a line with no Aces or Faces is always 9

  • Help with 3 handed crib   19 weeks 3 days ago

    Any uninterrupted sequence of 3 or more connecting cards scores one point for each card. Your example would score 3 points. It is important to remember that Kings and Aces are at the end of their line. You cannot 'wrap-around' and use an Ace with King. Kings can only be used in runs with Queens and Aces can only be used in runs containing a 2.

  • Cribbage rules - the go   19 weeks 3 days ago

    Your rules are kitchen cribbage rules. There is nothing in any rule book that says you cannot go out if you are in the stink hole. You should have scored and won the game.

  • Cribbage rules - the scoring   19 weeks 3 days ago

    Renegging is a penalty of 2 points for each card you COULD have played, plus forfeit of any points you were ABLE to score while pegging using the cards you should have played. www.cribbage.org for more info

  • Cribbage rules - the scoring   19 weeks 3 days ago

    That is correct, she gets a total of 6 points exactly as you described.

  • Cribbage rules - the play   19 weeks 3 days ago

    Here is the scoring in this sequence.
    P1-6=0
    P2-6=2 for pair
    P1-3=2 for 15
    P2-4=0
    P1-2=3 for run
    P2-A=4 for run
    P1-4=0
    P2-5=2 for 31

    Hope that helps

  • Cribbage rules - the play   19 weeks 3 days ago

    Flushes are only scored while you count hands, not while pegging. Rules can be found at www.cribbage.org

  • Please score this for me   19 weeks 3 days ago

    the 4 does not help you.

    Three different pair of 3s + the 9 = three 15s for 6.
    The three different pair of 3 equal 6 in pairs.

    Total 12.

  • Please score this for me   19 weeks 3 days ago

    In your hand you must be holding 4 of the same suit for a 4 card flush. Five if the up card too. In the crib is must be all five for the flush.

  • Please score this for me   19 weeks 3 days ago

    8 + three 7s is 15 for 6
    Three pair of 7s plus the ace with each one is 15 for 6
    The pair of 7s is 2 pts each for 6

    Total 18.

    Where might the 24 come from? Did I miss something?

  • Please score this for me   19 weeks 3 days ago

    Two 6s + the 3 = 15 for 2
    Two other 6s + the 3 = 15 for 2
    The last two 6s + the 3 = 15 for 2

    Three 6s is three pair of 6s for 2 pts each.

    Total 12 pts.

  • Please score this for me   19 weeks 3 days ago

    3 + two aces, 3 + two other aces, 3 + the last two aces all constitute 5s. Each going with the jack makes 15 for 2 three times for 6 pts.

    The 3 aces make 3 separate pair of aces for 6 pts for a total of 12 pts.

  • How do you score this instance in pegging?   19 weeks 3 days ago

    While they are played in a disjointed order these cards: 2,3,4,5,6,7 constitute a 6 card run. Never seen that one before. Congratulations.

  • impossible scores   19 weeks 4 days ago

    You get 30 points indeed. But you don't get to say you have a 30-point hand.

    You have for 5's.

    When the Jack is turned, you score 2 points for His Heels.

    Then you play and peg.

    Then everyone counts their hand.

    As dealer, you count your hand last, and your hand is worth 28 points.

    So you did score 30 points total. But the hand itself is 28.

  • Scoring a hand   19 weeks 4 days ago

    Yes!

    4+4+4+3=15 for 2, there are 4 ways of doing this so 8 points
    Double pairs royal (6 distinct pairs of 4's) make 12 points.